powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-03-05 - 9:32 p.m.

Holism and syllogism

Day 6 of food won�t stay in my system. I�ve barely eaten in days; I have no appetite, food won�t stay down, but other than that I feel skippy.

Okay, seriously, I�ve got to get in to see my doctor tomorrow.


Under the silver lining heading, I picked a great week to miss work as the business trip I had to bow out of was intense and difficult, fraught with things I can�t discuss. Let�s put it this way; I�ve gotten ten work calls at home this weekend, and I need to buy a present for my teammate who does Lisette�s job. Somehow, QA always gets screwed.

Roland is remembering what life is like when his wife is involved in an engineering build cycle. Cheer up, sweetie. We�ll be done by 2008.

Theo probably gets to play bad cop tomorrow. I�m not sure I can do good cop anymore. But other people seem to think I can.


Life is full of odd realizations, and the most jarring is always how other people perceive you.

A couple years ago, I was flabbergasted when a fellow Pelican told me I was intimidating. I always thought I was kind of sweet in the SCA, where I can relax and be Theo.

At work, I once earned the nickname �unambiguous one.� But, last week a teammate told me he thought that I was always, under all circumstances, extremely gracious. (Yes, I have yelled at him before.) In fact, he was intrigued by my childhood since he didn�t think they raised Southern ladies like me anymore.

Did your mother always remind you to behave like a lady?

Are you kidding? I reply. I got the �remember-you�re-a-lady� email from my mom this morning cause she knows I�m about to kill the lot of you.

Conversations in airports, like late nights at Pennsic, often reveal unexpected truths.


I�ve always likened time in airports to time in Purgatory, but I read somewhere last week that the Vatican is thinking of abolishing Purgatory. I wonder what that will do to all the people currently lingering there in the afterlife. Maybe they�ll get moved into the grayness of airport lounges. Or maybe airport wait times will get shorter?

And what about chantries? People endowed these things expecting centuries of prayers to move their soul quickly through Purgatory. Will they have to address some sort of chantry refund?

Logic and dogma always amuse me. God, I miss Gyrth who would have fabulous ideas for a prayer refund policy.


I must�ve mind-melded with Knitgeek today, as we spent part of the weekend finally finishing the book cataloging project. Turns out we have 1,950 books knocking around the house, and we�re still trying to decide whether to catalog all the SCA publications just to get them indexed.

Sorry, we didn�t use LibraryThing, so there�ll be no remote browsing unless we get around to publishing the BookCollectorz output online.

I�m going to lie down and ignore the urge to procure more books until we break the arbitrary 2,000 mark. Curse the ten-digited human fondness for round numbers.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!