powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-07-14 - 12:25 p.m.

Hocus Pocus

So here�s a thing to know.

At the moment of transubstantion, the priest lifts the host and intones Hoc est corpus meum (Or, in Methodist terms This is my body), and the communion wafer is transformed.

This Latin phrase is, apparently, the origin of the word Hocus-pocus, a phrase distracts the audience while magical things happen.

In engineering proofs, we have the cartoon stating � and then a miracle happened just before the answer.


A Pelican in its Piety, the symbol of my SCA Order, appears in medieval religious art as a representation of Christ. Sometimes, I think our appropriation of the symbol is hubris, but I think too much about these things because I�m the kind of geek that follows poor Roland around the house reading him books that explain the origin of the word hocus-pocus. Mostly, I think it�s a mark of live up to.

Pelicans are, occasionally a little bit about the hocus-pocus that makes miracles happen, but I always thought that was something I did in my hobby. At least until my team asked me to pull off three things, one of which I couldn�t even spell, in twenty-four hours to keep their schedule from being impacted.

I didn�t think much about it; one of my guys called in from vacation and asked me to find a way to make it happen in his absence. So, I did.

This morning, my designer called me a miracle-worker.
Maybe I deserve a moment of preening. Probably, its just hubris before I notice the eight sticky notes on my desk all of which are things to do within the week. I�d have less to do if Finn would come work for me, though I�m not sure why you want to.


All this, and I still got to the theatre on time last night, for Lady Windmere�s Fan, oh my goodness Dixie Carter live on the stage for the Shakespeare Theatre�s production of Oscar Wilde�s work. Fabulous, layer performance from all the ensemble, but Dixie is, well, Dixie.

Lis brought me my birthday present, which included happy face stickers and Power Puff girl finger puppets. This made three interesting things happen. Kymber loves me enough to draw a nose on the happy face sticker for me, though she did twitch. We got Alan to endure a green star happy face sticker affixed to his shirt. And, we drew stares playing with the three PPG finger puppets from my birthday card.

[Hum the PPG theme music here]


And, speaking of hocus-pocus, Harry Potter arrives Saturday. Let me say in advance, I love y�all, but I probably won�t answer the phone once I get my copy. Try me on Sunday.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!