powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-01-03 - 11:02 p.m.

If Rhi had a camera in my living room

Cleaning things only leads to more projects. The last box in the basement was the audio tapes.

Audio tapes? you say querulously. I think I have an old boom box somewhere that still plays tapes. Yes, that quaint analog medium that I never use anymore.

I, of course, have ripped all the CDs in the house. (If you had the flu for four days, you�d find some couch friendly activity too.) Music shopping? I�ve gone almost entirely to online download.

But what about these old filk tapes? How can I throw out �Keepers of the Flame,� the only album Phoenyx ever made? Before you think that�s geekily obscure, most SCAdians know the album through the �March of the Cambreadth� song which is sung across the Pennsic battlefields as �Axes flash, broadswords swing, �� When this song was sweeping Atlantia, and everyone was trying to learn the words, I mentioned that I had the album in passing which caused Luned to shriek, You mean I�ve had a copy of the damn thing under the bar this entire time? Apparently, the Windmasters bards weren�t teaching it fast enough.

And there�s the �Fair Lady Atlantia� tape. Meg Davis�s albums from the �70s. Okay, the David Bowie isn�t mine. Oh, but the Star Trek Comedy Album I completely admit to owning and I will keep for the immortal skit �All the Star Trek Shows Ever Made Rolled Into One� and �Banned from Argo.�

And a tape of songs of the Isenfiri; assorted Leslie Fish. Wow, this is embarrassing, I have all the Mercedes Lackey songs that go with the Valdemar series. I blame teenage angst.

Okay, like the tapes, don�t want to trash them; I don�t want a tape player; I want them digital. This is what the internet is for. Googling, googling, googling.

Whoo, shiny.

Audacity, free audio editor.

Imports, edits, rearranges, signal filter, effects, � hey, this is just like work, cleaning up the digital signal. This is like the fun part of my job which I never get to do anymore cause I have people who have people who do that.

(Must not write custom filters in Matlab. Back away from the squirrel food. Their default filters are fine.)

If you think this is pitiful gentle reader, just consider, I�m not the professional comm engineer in the family. Go ahead, ask Roland about his thesis.

Hey, honey; C�mere, look at this waveform

I should finish 'Fair Lady Atlantia' and mail it to BdeB.

I should go to bed. Hell month seriously starts tomorrow.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!