powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-01-03 - 8:31 a.m.

Tearing off a page

Happy 2005!

Big congratulations to our newlywed, Celyn, whose wedding we were unable to attend [insert rant about how the government is going to have to deal with the insanity of airline price swings; Reagan-nomics here we come again].

I�m joining Finlaech in the I-didn�t-sleep-cause-I-got-used-to-setting-my-own-holiday-hours boat. I think I finally nodded off about 3 am. Warm, relaxed, happy, just not of the sleep. Possibly the caffeine over dinner didn�t help. More likely, Roland is just too entertaining. Honestly, we even had fun cleaning the basement. Oh, not kitties-and-ice-cream fun, but entertainment still was jad.

[I did spend a chunk of vacation watching Buffy The Vampire Slayer, and it�s affected my speech patterns. I was hoping for cute, winsome, Buffy-speak. Roland advises me that I sound more like Anya. Hon, am I doing that thing again where I become annoying?]

Yawn. Blink.

But, I�m in office with everything shiny for the new year. Desk clean, papers filed, calendars hung.

I have an embarrassment of calendars.

The irony of calendars, those oft given holiday gifts, is that you never know which years you�ll get one and which years the elves will skip. I�ve been on the skip for three years, so I bought myself a calendar. Then, my science team sent cool calendars. Then, my Dad, my Mom and my Gen had calendars under their tree for me.

But, I love them all for their cyclical art and daily dose of pith, so I now have:


Space Science 2005 (Cool science pictures. Bonus, just size for officemate and I to use for scheduling the meeting area in our office.)

Gardens of Kyoto (for the Zen. Also, tree pretty)

Despair.Com Demotivators (For the pith. This month�s saying �Motivation: If A Pretty Poster and a Cute saying are all it takes to motivate you, you probably have a very easy job. The kind Robots will be doing soon.�)

James Christensen (for the art; this month�s piece is entitled �Lawrence Pretended Not to Notice that a Bear was Attached to His Coat Tail�)

Dilbert day-by-day (Daily cartoon and the violent fun of tearing off a page. Ruff.)

Wonder what calendars everybody else wracked up? I bet the Fin has his own DeMotivator 2005.

Speaking of dates, �xcuse me. I have to go make my team cry by reminding them they have to deliver stuff to me tomorrow.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!