powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-01-04 - 12:00 p.m.

Pounds, five of potatoes, one of butter

Nikulai, I had that dream again � the one where we�re in a lovely Chinese restaurant talking to a rhinoceros that doesn�t like tomatoes. I never can tell if he�s the waiter, or another dinner partner upon whom we�re trying to foist unwanted bits of salad.

Come to think of it, the restaurant looks a lot like the one from �Kill Bill, Part I�.


Theo�s been, blissfully, offline for days and days, living the puttering around the house dream, visiting family, sleeping late, finishing off many home projects, including putting the tree up on Christmas eve.

Roland, if you want us to look good, why did you tell my family we hung up all the pictures of them two hours before they arrived?

Christmas was lovely. Very quiet, except for an unfortunate incident with pomegranate seeds, which I am recommending as a tasty treat and a red dye. Excellent presents were given and received. Dinner proved once again that no one makes good mashed potatoes like a Southern girl.

What do you mean we�re out of butter?
We�re out of butter.
But, I just bought a pound at the store.
And then I made potatoes, you cute Yankee boy. You know, the potatoes you and your siblings fought over the leftovers?

Our niece was healthy for Christmas, having been miserable at Thanksgiving. My sister-in-law was overly competitive at board games.

Go, Theo. Is it my turn yet.
I�m still thinking.
Tick-tock-tick � times up.
Yeah, and I�ll yield my turn with the same graciousness and good sportsmanship my sister-in-law shows!

Which was fun anyway, even when my in-laws decided to help Oscar, unfairly pitting three against the rest of up solo players.

Oh, I see how you could win!
MOM!

It was a lovely evening, and Darby made some divine cranberry mousse thing. We were proud of her for not sulking that the decorative glaze made the decorative fruit slide our of their decorative arrangement, though it must be admitted she whined slightly.

A pound of butter? And cream? No wonder everyone likes your mashed potatoes better. laughs my mother-in-law.


Then, my family came and went the weekend after Christmas, which was splendid. Our three and a half year old nephew is a complete (and I say this with affection) camera slut.

In a sacrifice that will make Mel�s jaw drop, we trooped out for family portraits on Saturday morning as a gift to my mom. (Yes, I went and got my picture taken.) (Really.) This marked my first every positive experience with Sears, as Dory was a fantastic photographer even if she did accidentally call my brother �the white guy� rather than �the white sweater guy� causing him to turn so red, Dory had to wait a few minutes for the flush to fade.

A trip to the new Smithsonian Air and Space facility near Dulles airport, which displays the Enola Gay, one of the Skunkworks� last SR-71 Blackbirds, and NASA�s Enterprise. It was *too* crowded. I recommend going on a Tuesday, when no one will shove me out of the way when I�m looking at the plumbing on rocket engines. Though it was funny to turn the corner and run straight into Nancy and little Marian who couldn't even spot Tbone in the crowd.

Sunday, we told my nephew we were going to the land of the bears (my mother-in-law�s house) which kept him fascinated until it was time for spaghetti and lunch with my dad and his fianc�e.

(Now we will skip the more amusing parts of the story, which I will not be posting in the Internet, but the Padraigin thought they were pretty funny.)


What else?

I�m in trouble for not working the week after Christmas. I will regret it deeply tomorrow when I still face a pile of twenty some documents, so expect more of Theo working like a fiend next month. Apparently, my email says, I am going to California. Don�t you love automated travel systems? I have no idea who filed my orders or when I�m going.

Hmmm. Maybe I can stop in Arizona on the way back. Want to check out some space hardware before we start buying. Besides, I�ve never seen CMG�s spin (Control Moment Gyros) � not that I need one, but I�m intrigued to watch a mechanism with some much leashed momentum they test them behind 6� thick steel walls just in case it flies apart.


Hey, also playing a computer game for the first time in a decade, which is why Havorc�s entry about chewing up the field during a bearpit tourney made me laugh. It�s a D&D game and I named my half-orc fighter character (what else) Aeterbani? And you know what?

My little half-orc character also kicks pretty serious butt. I keep putting him in the front line to take all the punishment, while he beats the bad guys into submission.

Just thinking of you, Brian.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!