powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-12-15 - 9:17 p.m.

Out of phase

Like a groundhog at the end of winter, I peek up from the hibernation of my office and glance around at my life.

Hmmmm. Time to call the gallery about that print, work on those curtains, pick out the office furniture, plan that trip overseas, register for cooking classes, get a new hot water heater, ...

... strangely, Christmas is my last thought.

In the midst of winterdark, I'm thinking about lawn projects. And it's not even solistice yet.

It's not that I don't have any holiday spirit. I just think I've skipped straight ahead to Groundhog Day and the ensuing spring cleaning.

I'm in the mood for home decor when I'm supposed to be holiday decorating. I think my cycle's all out of phase. Maybe I should live in the Southern hemisphere, where the water runs down the drain the opposite direction and honeysuckle is blooming on my friend's New Zealand porch.

I suppose it's all about having time to appreciate the holiday efforts. I refuse to stress about it. It will all get done, to some extent, one way or another.

Most importantly, my friends and family will turn up to share holiday cheer.


At least my internal soundtrack is in the right season, even if my brain is on spring. Roland and I dashed about the kitchen singing 'O Holy Night' while he cooked dinner. Best you all weren't there to wince.

I have this bizarre urge to go Christmas carolling.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!