powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-09-22 - 12:28 p.m.

Lucky Ducky

Our refrigerator is like a big puzzle, modern and modular. Everything in it does, with enough persuasion, come apart to be cleaned. The most uncooperative piece is definitely the meat �n� cheese drawer, which requires a minor wresting match to (a) get the fridge door open wide enough to pull it straight enough to clear and (b) to get the darn thing to let go of the mounting hooks.

Sunday, I am deconstructing the icebox while Roland scrubs all the disassembled bits. The last bit was the irritating drawer. Now, problem (a) was solved by emptying said drawer and jamming an available wedge of cheese into the fridge door. Look, a wedge used like a simple machine and the door stays open rather than continuing to hit me in the butt.

But step (b) led to much profanity, including some of my stranger farmgirl expressions.

F*ck a duck! I yell, for the drawer has let halfway go and is now hanging jammed on the remaining mount point.

Without missing a beat, I hear Roland behind me drawl Lucky ducky!

Excuse me? (Never try to whirl around indignantly when your body is mostly inside a fridge.)

That�s when I discovered amongst Roland�s hidden talents is the ability to quack seductively and suggestively.

Dammit I wheeze, for I am now breathless with laughter, still halfway inside the fridge, the damn drawer is still stuck, then, cheese wedge comes loose and the door smacks me in the ass. All the while, Roland keeps qwacking and laughing.


Balynar, Leofwynne, that�s what marriage is like after ten years. All dignity lost, but a lot of laughter. And, bonus for me, I still get chased about the kitchen, cause that activity is not impeded by loss of power. At least not the way we go about it.

We�re glad you enjoyed the flowers. I think everyone should get random and unexpected presents, especially on such important occasions.

You got lovely flowers in Roland colors because I couldn�t manage to send you balloons. Balloons, I thought, would last longer. Balloons would be fun for Kira. Balloons can say cute and lovely things. Balloons get in the way while chasing each other around the kitchen.

Except, while the florist was certain they had thousands of varieties of balloons, including many that laud marriage, she couldn�t tell me what exactly any of them said. This didn�t give me enough confidence to risk the balloon bouquet. I wasn�t ready to send a randomly generated balloon message like - �Smile! Happy silver Anniversary, Best wishes to get better soon.� For all I know, the crazy shop person would�ve throw in a Sponge Bob squarepants balloon, cause that was one of the few things she could specifically describe and that�s the kind of stuff that happens in my world.


Isabel came and went, along with phone calls from my mom every five hours. We spent three hours Friday clearing yard and gutter of leaves and deadfall.

It�s good to be a SCAdian, cause we already had all the candles, camp stoves and bottled water needed. We ate like kings, everything from Thai beef to chicken and dumplings, cause I was trying to finish off the perishables. I failed. Part of the problem is if you cook it all up, you still need to store the leftovers.

Thus, we threw out bags of stuff yesterday, which will certainly $$ the grocery bill this month, but better than botulism. Besides, you�re supposed to throw away the condiments yearly, right? Yeah. Roland dissuaded me from calling food-sanitation-man to consult on whether yogurt stored three days in an unpowered fridge would be safe to eat.

Our power went out Thursday about 5 pm and is still out. In fact, Pepco (who is very much *not* impressing me with their ability to prepare for and cope with a crisis) says it�ll be on by this Friday evening. Probably. So, another week of cold showers and warm cider.

There�s a tree down across the lines that serve our back corner of the neighborhood. Since we�re only 20 homes of unfortunate souls, we�re pretty much screwed. What troubles me more is they lines are amongst two trees on the ground. So far a crew has per functionally tied yellow tape near the problem and left it there. On the sidewalk. Where all the neighborhood children walk to get to the bus, ride their bikes, walk their dogs. Not a safe situtation.

The lack of electricity is most tiresome, but quite survivable. We have food and takeout. We have temperate weather, so we don�t miss the HVAC system. No property damage. No flooding or water in the basement. Really, we were very lucky ducks. Still, I think I�ll impose on Gen�s tub this evening for a long hot soak.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!