powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-09-05 - 7:43 a.m.

Cornmeal on my ear

So, there I am last night, at 11 pm, microwaving cornmeal. Entirely Anne�s fault.

She called last night with a question about geography, but (of course) we talked and talked. I mentioned my plans to attend Coronation were descoping and even in danger of being canceled, thanks to the earache/infection/painful thingy of doom.

Nurse Anne - after being gently amazed that I couldn�t remember the name of my meds in that way that makes you squirm slightly like a 16 year old and say defensively But, I *did* read the instructions. I swear. I just don�t remember the names - suggested heat.

Do you have any cornmeal?

Excuse me? I say.

Cornmeal. Or navy beans. Put cornmeal in a cloth pack, like those bean and herb things you see at craft shows, and you can microwave it. It makes a nice, malleable hot pad. And there�s enough water in the cornmeal to create gentle, moist heat.

Un-huh. Well, I�ve met the bag o� navy bean hotpad�

Put in a little rosemary, just for aromatherapy. My mom used to do this with a pillow case, but I can tell you a sealed cloth bag is better for tossing about the microwave. But you probably know this being from West Virginia.

Virginia. Southwest Virginia.

Oh. Anne giggles. I hope that�s not a killin� offense.

No, no. That falls in the sigh category. Big Nia sigh kind of thing.

Rummage through the feast basket for the infinite cloth pouches that breed in there; Trot downstairs; Pour in cornmeal and rosemary; Tie up the top and nuke for one minute.

Damned if it didn�t work. And temporarily dull the pain. All the while emitting the slight aroma of baking Chicken in a Rock.

Think I�ll add a little sage to the pouch and take it to work.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!