powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-09-29 - 12:36 p.m.

Think, think

I keep starting diary entries and never finishing them because life is crazy.


Blissfully, we have had power back for five days.

Many in the region still have trees and power problems, and frustration continues to mount. I passed a huge homemade sign along New Hampshire Avenue proclaiming �Hey Pepco!! Downed lines, THIS way ->>�

It�ll be interesting to follow the criticism and inevitable reform of the power industry after the recent storms. Especially, since the August 31st Washington Post had a big article questioning Pepco�s performance after the thunderstorms knocked out power for four days.

Our fridge and freezer are mostly restocked � let me tell you, the grocery store was *empty* of perishables with newly repowered filling their iceboxes. I still have to replace a few of the more esoteric items, like miso paste, but there�s no hurry on that. The laundry is getting done, Fred-the-sourdough-starter-that-lives-in-the-fridge is healthy and bubbly again, and life is returning to what passes for normal.


Work is both much better and much worse.

Better: Of all the stresses in my professional life, there�s only one part that has ever kept me up at night. I mean that literally. They fixed it. It was an extremely hard thing for them to accomplish. I�m stunned that they had the conviction and ability to pull it off.

Worse: I have to incorporate the change without slipping schedule. Ha ha ha ha.

Better: My other analysis lead is back, so now I have two analysis leads (long story about the plural).

Worse: Both have also applied for other jobs, so one way or another I will probably loose one of them.

Better: I have a new boss. A good boss.

Worse: It�s my partner in crime/technical lead. Sigh. I may have to accept an involuntary promotion to take his technical job. No, not the kind that gives you more money, just a change in job description/move up the org chart.
I don�t think I want it, for many complex reasons.
I do think I want it, for many complex reasons.

Talk about life is what happens while you�re making other plans.


Hey, speaking of coping, my favorite new panacea is the sucker balls from my birthday goodies.

These little round neon balls with suction cups all over them stick to my office window when thrown hard enough. At least they stick until the cantilevered load overcomes the suction�s ability to tolerate sheer forces. Then, *bam*, the balls unexpectedly tumble and bounce around the office.

A golden opportunity to gleefully hurl them at the window until they stick again.


They want my answer about the job assignment tomorrow.
Pace, pace.
Think, think.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!