powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2002-12-04 - 8:47 p.m.

When holiday penguins fly

I leave the auditorium where my all day meeting is proceeding and make my way down the hallway to the restroom.

Innocent and unsuspecting am I when - *suddenly* - a flying penguin intersects with my shoulder.

Stuffed penguin, cute holiday hat, red and green scarf.

Oh, sorry, I thought I knew you. (Strangely, I can respect that, since my former software team bought me only soft toys knowing my propensity to throw them. And, occasionally, hit whom I was aiming for.)

I conclude the penguin gods are displeased with my doubts concerning their olive and egg penguin brethren.

Out of the hundredish teammates from my project meeting, only I saw the flying penguin. This really does only happen to me.

F*ck, I really am a nexus between this reality and the next.


Day two of a design retreat that begin with our lead engineer stating: I see this meeting as a working retreat, a rest stop on the way to our first formal review, where we look around and make sure everyone is still in the car.
I have four kids. I actually have to do that.

The auditorium�s built in sound system screams like a banshee, giving bat eared people like me a horrible headache. So, this time, they brought in a freestanding sound system, so each presenter was given a mike. Not the cute little �tie clip� variety, no the full blown singer equipment.

Now remember, I�m still limping around in that walking cast for my tendonitis. Ah, but my kind colleagues provided me a stool and hand me the mike.

Hmmm, I say, On TRMM when they gave you a mike like this, you were expected to sing keroke. (Yeah, there�s more stories about that mission than the Monkey on the Windshield � like the Lobster Tail or turkeys in space. But back to today �)

So here I am, from about 2:30 to 4 something sitting on a stool, with a mike, working through slides of technical material and demonstrating control concepts with my little lego model of the spacecraft, thinking at any moment I could deliver a really bad rendition of �Feelings�.

� ah, but why should I sing (when I do it really badly), when I can do improv?

Cause, then, I throw out my entire prepared discussion and went based on notes I scrawled down over lunchtime discussion. Nothing like rederiving my entire design on the fly. At least I finally got the scientists in one room and got them to articulate what they really needed.

�Feelings. Nothing more than feeeeeeelings��

As a bonus, I spent the day telling everyone who asked that I ended up with the cast after fighting our lead engineer for a bigger resource allocation.
Hey, everyone but them thought it was funny.


I think the penguin was a harbringer of the predicted snow.

Ah, look, my evil has found a purpose in Ealdthryth's duckie bathroom decor.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!