powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2001-10-02 - 7:46 a.m.

Holy Dustbunnies Batman!

Work is rather tedious lately. Lots and lots of testing and data to process. I'll be so glad when this project is over and I can move to a new assignment. That's the plus of my job - I don't have to change jobs to have a new job/role every year to three. Tedium, when will it end?


Costco shopping last night - which is just one more warehouse club. Seductive places, but they really do have great prices on certain things. (Gen might be happy to know I found beef tenderloin extremely cheap, so there may be a roast tomorrow.) Priced out a bunch of stuff for my cook. Bought a copy of Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and A Knight's Tale, because that movie was just too silly. Also found a copy of Bull Durham for $5 - great compromise movie - guys generally like the baseball, the girls are there for the Costner "I believe" soliquoy.

The evening was spent digging out - you know the hours of putting things away that precedes the actually cleaning - while Roland headed to fighter practice.

We had four or five different cleaning services during my full time work/full time grad school phase (which ended Dec'99) cause it was just too crazy. Never found one we liked, ended up firing them all. You had to appreciate their approach - "We won't clean anything unless it's completely picked up. We just won't take responsibility for misplacing your stuff." Yeah, right. Picking up/moving stuff is over half the cleaning battle � what a scam. We had one service that emptied the dishwasher and *guessed* where all my dishes went. When I asked them to stop that, the owner yelled at me that I was unapprecative of his wife's extra effort. (She spent all that time hiding my dishes yet couldn't dust - what was to appreciate?) Needless to say, that conversation ended his firm's work at my house.

Really, it's far less frustrating to clean your own place.

I did find the comic boxes while I was putting away things in the basement. Wasted at least half an hour on old superhero comics (Shazam! Adam Strange. Green Arrow. Black Canary - wasn't she just an excuse for fishnets?), but still didn't find my Batman. Found a bunch of Superboy.

The comics are all things my dad bought, and he was into WWII comics and creepy comics - so if you want Navy! or House of Mystery or Richie Rich I've got a bunch. Look, the only redeeming things about Richie Rich is Casper and Wendy the Good Witch. I really should dump these things on eBay.


We have an event planning meeting tonight, which I'm jazzed about. With luck, I can run a fast meeting and make it home by 8 pm for the Buffy premiere. Those that don't watch it may scoff but it is a really good show.

I see Celynen's points about Alias. Yeah, I should've said the action moved fast, played well, but you are right about the realism. I've been a grad school student too - how would I have managed flying to Taipei on a moment's notice to kick butt when there's 20 - 80 hours of homework a week plus classes? Suspension of disbelief.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!