powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2001-09-26 - 1:52 p.m.

Moments of Transition

It's been fifteen days since terrorists forever changed our nation.

American is moving steadily toward action. Coalitions are forming, reservists activated, troops deployed, money raised, refugees fleeing Afghanistan, but no final results yet.

It feels like we're standing on an edge.


"The war had paused, suddenly and unexpectedly. All around us, it was as if the universe were holding its breath. Waiting... All of life can be broken down into moments of transition or moments of revelation. This had the feeling of both..."

"There is a greater darkness than the one we fight. It is the darkness of the soul that has lost its way. The war we fight is not against powers and principalities, it is against chaos and despair. Greater than the death of flesh is the death of hope, the death of dreams. Against this peril we can never surrender. The future is all around us, waiting, in moments of transition, to be born in moments of revelation. No one knows the shape of that future or where it will take us. We know only that it is always born in pain."

-Babylon 5: Z'ha'dum J.M. Straczynski


For those that don't realize it, Babylon 5 is one of my favorite television shows of all time.

I remembered the above closing monologue, so I looked up the exact quote. Chillingly accurate description of our present situation.

I have this strange waiting feeling.

I've worked through most of my grief and shock. I've taken what steps I can to fly the colors, donate money and blood to the relief effort, but there really is so little to do. Life isn't 'back to normal'. It's closer than we were, but there are still streets blocked off at my workplace, double id security checks, National airport is still closed.

Like the rest of American, I gather my patience, something I'm always short on, and get ready for the long struggle against terrorism. I distract myself with regular activities and hobbies, but there's still this odd feeling - like the moment before an epiphany.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!