powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-07-19 - 11:50 a.m.

Things I never expected to say about Shakespeare

There's a man in the palm tree with an electric guitar.

Last night, Kymber, Roland and I went to our delayed-due-to-vacations performance of Love's Labor's Lost

Picture the following:
The King of Navarre is an Indian maharajah inviting three noblemen to renounce women for years of study. The noblemen rush onstage with guitars and drumsticks, looking like escapes from the 1960s headed for a commune to sit lotus position and play the Doors albums way too loud.

The peasant actors? Indian dancing girls - yes with saris -and peace protestors.

Then the Princess of France and her entourage arrive as go-go girls. On motor scooters.

Oh, yeah, man.

As improbable as the entire mess sounds, it reallly worked. However, there were quite a few 'Wow' quotes from the evening inspired by the production.

See if you can identify which one is Roland from the following pith.

It's the Forever Knight guy in a zebra pimp suit.
With purple lining.

Sweet Jesus, it's Freddie on drums.
And Byram on acoustic.
And the I'm-not-Jesus guy is playing the tambourine.

Astronauts should not dance.

I'm afraid of what the pole's for.

If they start playing the Candyland game I'm out of here. One would only expect that in an Ibsen play.

I'm pretty sure I've seen this in a Dr. Seuss book.

Are the other two worthies motorcycles and hot pants?

I'm not sure it's legal to do that with an IKEA snake.
Certainly not in Virginia.

And then Tosh walked in with leopard print kneepads.
I think the tidy-whites
[under the Roman armor skirt] trump the kneepads.

And the finaly quote of the evening, which was me calling Mel-the-Taller to say I'm pretty sure I've seen the 'nine worthies' [play-within-a-play] on RAW is WAR. And I don't watch wrestling.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!