powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-04-12 - 8:45 p.m.

Lightning, but no thunder

Good news things at work today. Convinced my analysts their design wasn�t broken, shook things and they didn�t break, and scraped together funding for something my team desperately needed.

Yet, for all that, I feel almost invisible and underappreciated some days. No one sees the coming in at 5 am to spent three plus hours of sorting the madness of money � a subject so complex at my institution that my supervisors have started sending people to me for briefings, damn them. It�s their frickin� job. But, everyone stops listening as soon as I say we�re under budget.

Everyone else wastes time bothering my team while they�re doing fun stuff while I let them do their job, while I complete the tedious prep work so my team proceeds smoothly to the next task.

Tough to be a fire prevention gal in a firefighter culture.

Ah, it was a slightly frustrating status day.

Two of my colleagues � whom I treasure working with by the way � presented all my issues and accomplishments while briefing my management because the information was so crucial. But, I felt undercut.

You know, the huge problem I found and solved in under 5 weeks? California and back in 36 hours? Insane overtime, rederivation of entire attitude estimation processes from first mathematical principles (Terrshee, statistics did get Apollo to the moon and are very useful. I promise.) cause the people I pay to do that were too busy? All the details and independent analysis, all the facilitation to get it fixed? Presented to my management as X and Theo did a good job on this.

Good job? Y�all wouldn�t know about the fucking problem except I spent one Sunday reading through the analysis y�all considered too pedantic too review because you�d gotten the verbal summary. Good job? I was the one who brought it home, boys.

But, when I stood up to talk, the response was �Yeah, yeah, they covered this.�
I felt like my thunder was stolen. And, I can�t see a way to address this sort of thing with my colleagues or management without sounding petty.

Some days, it is difficult to vuln.

An interesting mood when tomorrow is Maundy Thursday.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!