powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-01-18 - 9:39 p.m.

The Dark is Rising

Sunday:
Wind in the eaves on an icy day. Perfect for re-reading The Dark is Rising under a warm blanket by a roaring fire.

I admit to napping with Roland and the cat in front of the fire. Also, to making a batch of chocolate chip cookies just so I could eat some of the dough. Maybe it'll be offset by the nice healthy apple'n'yogurt breakfast. Probably not.


Roland�s never read Susan Cooper. Behind Narnia, it�s my favorite childhood series. And Roland�s never read it. He�s so not of my tribe.

But I envy him he�ll get to read it for the first time.


Three days with enough sleep, blessed sleep, makes me really feisty at work. I think I scared a few people today. No, no, no. It�s worked the last six times; We�re not reinventing the paperwork.

I understand. I�ll work with them to see how we can compromise.

No, the answer is we�re doing it the same way or the CO can get on my calendar and explain why it�s illegal this time when it was fine the last six times.

I have neither time nor patience for bullshit these days. I have serious technical issues that aren�t getting sufficient attention cause I cover 20+ topics a day, each in 15 minutes or less. Average of four meetings and 100 business emails a day, and my patience for indulging others is gone.

In other news, I learned I shouldn't speak French at work. Apparently, it distracts some of my colleagues.


Have you every tried to count the ten commandments?

Alan, Gen, Rob and I were watching the West Wing season premiere � where Martin Sheen enters on the immortal line �Thou shalt have no other God before me.� � and I realized I couldn�t name all ten off the top of my head.

So, after borrowing a copy of Exodus, I realized it�s hard to count them from the original text. Go ahead and try it. Geeky, I know. But it was the other red head that went back to the original Aramic.

Then, just to round out the weekend, we finally watched �Spinal Tap,� the mock rockumentary from Rob Reiner. I�m sorry to say this, but it�s bad. Besides the immortal �but, it goes to 11,� the entire thing is bad. Maybe I had to be drunk and in college in order to enjoy it properly.


Two words I made Roland learn last week: eremite and haruspex, which really wasn�t a nice thing to do to the poor boy �specially after he�d brought me roses.

Theo: Hmmm. I really think Shakespeare should�ve used haruspex in Julius Caesar.

Roland, innocently minding his own business. Huh?!


Okay, enough randomness.
Come, friends, let us away.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!