powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-08-25 - 1:32 p.m.

I believe in fairies

I put the second to last load in the laundry this morning.


438 emails are, finally, all read. On another day, ask me to write a retrospective on how to communicate through email, but not today.

Quote from my team member, watching me bounce at my desk yesterday: The music in your head is very loud sometimes, isn't it?


I only have two bottles of chocolate milk left, but there are five batches of ice cream in the freezer, some of which will go to our Chocolate Milk Fairy in repayment for store-to-camp-cooler deliveries all War.

(Can you call Syr Vlad a fairy?)

(Vlad. Tinkerbell. Now, I'm laughing at the world in my head. This is better than the time I imagined Balynar was a cowboy.)

(Okay, I have to go review a mechanical design now.)

(I wonder what Vlad would do if we all clapped at the same time?)

(I really have to go now.)



An addendum, in which are discussed some brief pointers on Pennsic chocolate milk (PCM) ice cream

On the cooler-cleanout dinner night, last night of War, with the table and campmates already groaning from ham, steak, sausage, salad, guac, stone soup and random other items found in the coolers, I yell from the kitchen: And nobody go anywhere, cause I�m just starting on the crepes for dessert.

Syr Angus had gotten trapped in our common tent and fed because we were dragging strangers off the street to feed them looks at Roland and says Is she serious?

Roland just laughs.

Over the finished product, I explain to Angus that the next endeavor is ice cream, cause I have ten bottles of chocolate milk in the cooler and I own two ice cream makers, to which he replies, Of course you do, in the voice you use to reason with crazy people.

Everyone ate the crepes with random fruit flamb�.


I own a Cuisnart and a Krups ice cream maker, for which I blame Kymber, the second being purchased when I was making a mass amount of sorbet for a Queen�s Tea. It�s also why I own two ice cream scoops, but that�s neither here nor there as one seems to have gone astray.

Having watched them churn away each evening this week, I can offer the following consumer feedback.

The Cuisnart is much noisier than the Krups, but seems to whip/freeze the ice cream better. Since the ingredients, stirrer and freezing technology appear to be identical, I�m guessing it�s an rpm thing. I�ll have to clock the revs tonight. It can�t be torque; the speed stays steady. And, with the paddles the same, it�s not fluid flow�

� sorry, I was writing this update to answer Melisande�s question about how I make chocolate milk ice cream, cause mine never comes out icy or grainy.

2 eggs
2/3 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla
4 cups of PCM [Usually it�s 2 cup milk/2 cup cream, but you don�t need the cream with PCM]

Whip together eggs and sugar until very fluffy. Add the vanilla. Pour in the milk and stir. Stick in the ice cream maker. Churn 30 minutes. Pour into Tupperware and stick in freezer.

Or, if I want fluffier ice cream

3 eggs
1 cup sugar
2 tsp vanilla
4 cups milk

Whip together eggs and half the milk in a pot. Add sugar and combine. Heat about 10 minutes until milk thickens/coats the spoon, stirring constantly. (But, let�s be serious about this; it�s so creamy that it coats the spoon from the beginning, so I totally don�t use this test. I just heat it through, ten � fifteen minutes on medium low heat. And, no, I don�t stir constantly. I use nonstick.) Pull it off the heat and let it cool, maybe half an hour, then stir in vanilla and the rest of the milk. Stick it in the fridge overnight, then run it through the ice cream maker the next day.

Mine usually comes out of the ice cream maker at soft serve consistency. You have to leave it in the freezer to get the hard freeze solidity.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!