powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-08-23 - 8:17 p.m.

Living with Harlots and Ruffians

I love camping with the V'Ermine. Vair & Ermine, N18 Battle Road. We look good, we have a comfy camp and everyone mistakenly thinks we're stuffy. All the better to lure them closer.

Bryce's squires Malcolm and William Thomas think I'm very sweeet. I think Malcolm will make a most excellent squeaky toy.

The first week, Corbie and Thjora, Roland and I were the lone Squeasles (Squirrels and Weasels = Vair and Ermine furs - LearnToBlazonYall) which meant we slept late, drank in the afternoon, and invented (ThanksCorbie) a new camp rule of 'No whittling with power tools.'

On one memorable day everyone even bothered to put on pants. One even more memorable day (ask Syr Vlad), Thjora didn't put on more than a shift. This eventually led to a new camp mantra - Obey Pink Leader; Fear Green Leader; Crush on Blue Leader.


Why are you putting the bush in the shower bucket?

Because I'm taking it to Pennsic.

Pause from Roland as watches me digging up the side yard at 6 am just prior to departing for War.

Okay.

Yes, I seriously put in an herb garden this year. Sage, hyssop, rosemary, parsley, thyme, marjoram, oregano, lavender, spearmint and some ivy, just cause ivy is all about me.

Though initially roundly mocked by all my campmates, they learned to embrace the garden for its tasty and picturesque characteristics. Gen even learned all the herbs so she could give garden tours. And ate most of the spearmint.

I got to cook with fresh herbs all Pennsic.

I even took a period cookbook, a redaction from a 15th century pope's cook, which led to recipes like crepes made with white wine and 'omelets for harlots and ruffians.' The guy, while short on recipe directions, was long on description of who should eat what food. The omelet was carefully crafted to 'incite no fleshly humors.' Gotta keep the ruffians un-inflamed.


Gabriel's Landing was one of my best evenings, hanging with Benfse and company, until we finally wandered off cause B was looking way too hot to talked to us old married folks all night.

I wish I looked like that in a corset.

Still, I have a year to diet and exercise. Besides, if we're really going to sponsor that Kingdom fundraiser involving dressing like Wencelas bathing babes I've got to get buff.


Overall, it was a low key year. Several days I didn't even leave camp. We had a bunch of very happy campers, no chore roster and several cute and well-behaved children who would occasionally fetch ice and help paint banners.

And, though there is more to tell, I still have laundry to do and after 438 emails read today, I'm done with the keyboard for now.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!