powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-05-03 - 10:21 p.m.

Whatever happened to Joe Heller anyway?

Manager: So, the people you�re delivering to say they can�t tell you what their requirements are because they need the item you�ve already delivered to meet their requirements so they can test their breadboard model to show it work so they�ll know what requirements they need to give you.

Theo makes puzzled face � the one with a disbelieving stare and crinkled forehead.

Long pause.

Theo. Well, while I�ve always enjoyed that Joseph Heller novel, I�m not sure how you make that work as an engineering approach.

I�m so proud of my technical teammates, because the entire room broke up, with all but one person correctly identifying the Catch-22 reference.

Manager: I need you to work out something with them, because they�re completely stuck.

Sigh. Do I get a cape with that assignment?


There was only one catch and that was Catch 22, which specified that a concern for one�s safety in the face of dangers that were real and immediate was the process of a rational mind. Orr was crazy and could be grounded. All he had to do was ask; and as soon as he did, he would no longer be crazy and would have to fly more missions. Orr would be crazy to fly more missions and sane if he didn�t, but if he was sane he had to fly them. If he flew them he was crazy and didn�t have to; but if he didn�t want to be he was sane and had to.

�So?� Yossarian was puzzled by Doc Daneeka�s inability to comprehend. �Don�t you see what that means? Now you can take me off combat duty and send me home. They�re not going to send a crazy man out to be killed, are they?�

�Who else will go?�

- Catch-22 by Joseph Heller

The story of a group of American soldiers stationed in Italy during World War II, specifically the story of Yossarian, a soldier who is doing everything he can to be dismissed from military service and avoid danger


Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!