powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-04-25 - 1:20 p.m.

The legend of the cupcakes

Those cupcakes are legendary! Legendary, I say!

If you want to lead an engineering team to success, I recommend learning to bake. Oh, the advanced technical degrees, an anal-retentive nature and a fondness for calculus help, but nothing moves people along like cupcakes.

Last week, I had one team member finish thesis defense and another getting married Saturday, so I made cupcakes.

Why did I make cupcakes? Because that's what Southern women reflexively do when there's good news - we bake. We also bake when there's bad news - cookies are more funeral appropriate. However, I only get the urge to make coffee if the news is bad.

I don't even like coffee much.

Hey, I come from one of those families where old women wear ugly straw hats to garden.

Apparently, my engineers had never had authentic buttercream icing. (Roland may roll his eyes since he patiently listened to my explanation of Classic buttercream vs neoclassic buttercream vs whatever-the-hell 'bettercreme' is, cause that's what the Safeway bakery slathers on everything.)

Trust me, buttercream is better. Frankly, neoclassic is faster and just as good. Nice chemistry trick on making the sugar dissolve into a simple syrup, thought you must mix more carefully to avoid the spun sugar. Catch me in person and I'll explain.

At least I have an eager audience to absorb the baked goods. I want to work my way through The Cake Bible, but I certainly don't need that many calories on my kitchen counter.


I've been sleeping a ridiculous amount lately. Eight months of overwork, I guess.

We did accomplish a few errands over the weekend, despite my sloth, among them we bought new cell phones. We've had the same phones for four years, and they were starting to act funny. So, we got new GSM capable Motorolas.

This necessitates us texting the Padraigin and asking forgiveness for not buying Sony-Ericsson. (They weren't offering a bluetooth capable model in the Cingular stores.) But, she forgives us. Even when I inadvertently conferenced called her and Roland simultaneously. You might want to understand what your phone does before you keep hitting buttons.

Now, I'm happily geeking, including pictures of people in my phone address book and wasting loads of time on the gadget.

Gen: Wait. You called me to get a url so you can put pictures of Alan in the cell phone?

Blush. At least I'm admiting it up front. Thanks for the urls, Bubbles.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!