powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-03-25 - 12:07 p.m.

Stormy weather

I just need one picture to finish this presentation.
Once I finish this presentation, I can go home.
I�ve been compulsively checking email every five minutes, hoping it will appear.


It�s true. Bad news never waits until morning.

The phone rang late Tuesday night with my sister-in-law, obviously upset and worn out, looking for some family contact information.

Roland�s brother wound up in the ER this week. After many frantic hours, sucky and inconsiderate doctors, and tests, tests, tests, they discovered a benign mass on his pituitary gland. After waiting 13 hours for answers, my sister-in-law had to throw a hissy fit to get a doctor to read out the results.

Benign sounds innocent, doesn�t it? Ha. It�s pressing on the brain, causing blackouts and double vision, and severe pain. They have him on whatever is above morphine to manage the pain. Emergency surgery will be necessary as soon as it can be arranged.

Apparently, they can go in through the nose and get at the affected area, which makes me think of ancient Egyptians. They used to pull the brain out through the nose as part of the mummification process.

Y�all probably didn�t want to know that.

Brother is woozy with pain and exhaustion. Sis-in-law is juggling three kids and managing his care. We are all on the opposite coast, and have little to do other than call and pray.


Still no picture. Dammit.


I�ve had a week from hell. We�re officially on the stress point of the project cycle called �Critical Design Review�. Three days of presenting to 300+ people. As you can imagine, when you try to show your checklist is complete, you find the four thousand things that aren�t finished and try to get them checked off.

Even my Pelican coping skills and freaky multitasking abilities are being stretched beyond the limits. I had four people standing over me yesterday, talking simultaneously about different problems I needed to solve.

I ran from building to building in Wednesday�s rainstorm to track down my senior technical people. I got them agree to meet with my by standing over them and dripping. Once I laid out the problem, they explosion of �Why didn�t you tell us sooner!� came; followed by me yelling �You recall I�ve been calling you every day for ten business days requesting a meeting?�

I got one of them frustrated enough he yelled at me using his wife�s name, which put me into hysterical laughter.


Still no picture. How long can this take?


I have �Stormy Weather� playing, trying to clear my desk before the weekend (and wait on this stupid picture).

It�s been pouring and nasty all week, which makes everyone snarly.

I wonder if they�ve finished that box of junk for me? I�ve done practically nothing about a Cyberpunk costume, beyond ask my techs to pile up a box of discarded, wires, parts, and PCBs.

I�m going to go look for junk. Seems just the way to cap off the week.

Maybe the picture will be here by the time I get back.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!