powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-04-01 - 8:44 a.m.

Survivor

I made the mistake of counting. My Palm takes me to at least ten standing meetings a week, six others that are bi-weekly or monthly. Plus six others that I cover if someone on my team is out.

I spent ten minutes this week trying to figure out how to change my Palm Pilot alert from the generic 'beep-please-go-to-a -meeting' to the opening riff of Survivor's "Eye of the Tiger."

Feeling a little old school. Or, maybe, just old and weary.

And, why not? I counted back. My team�s run one major fire-drill a week, plus meeting our schedule, for the past month. You know, that month I was just back from having pneumonia.

Even if I reached my Gethsemane a week before Maundy Thursday, I noticed that we�re surviving.

Last week, my teammate had turned sheet white convinced we�d made a 4 million dollar mistake and would fail one of our top requirements. White is not his color.

This week, we�ve proofed three possible solutions that will cost little to nothing. The little green bug from my Bob day V5.0 goodie bag has kept us company each evening, as people are more content to sit in meetings if they have something to fiddle with.

I�m afraid to put the glow pen out on the toy shelf.


Roland�s brother�s surgery was a smashing success. There is recovery and careful monitoring ahead, but they�re sending him home.

I�m off today. It�s a very minor triumph since I filed 19 hours of overtime this pay period, but I�ll take it. Might even get the house vacuumed before people turn up tonight.

I am doing one bit of work today. I�m calling the travel people and extending my business trip to Florence to include a vacation.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!