powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2005-01-23 - 10:41 p.m.

Simply no place to go

Roland had never eaten meatloaf.

Does anyone else find that slightly freaky?

Oh the weather outside is frightful�

I think winter finally noticed it was supposed to be doing its job. We�ve been blanketed with about 5�, which today�s 25 mph winds redistributed into drifts interspersed with patches of ground scoured clean.

Since we didn�t have to go anywhere this weekend, we didn�t.

� but the fire is so delightful �

So, I concentrated on bribing my favorite laundry fairy - I made Roland �Theo pizza� Thursday night. Which, after a day of puttering about on Friday, made excellent leftovers.

Puttering was pretty much the theme for the weekend. I cleaned the kitchen pantry, discovering polenta from the last century and pistachios that had hosted some form of webspinner. Ugh. And how exactly did I accumulate four bottles of balsamic vinegar?

Since there�s simply no place to go�

Saturday, what did we do Saturday? Repaired a wall, fixed the closet door, made stew, put up some hooks � made like boring yuppie types and repaired dozens of things we�d been meaning to do for months. My once and future houseguests will be happy to know that the cat can no longer open the guest bath closet.

Today, I finished some upholstery (insert swearing here). Then, cracked a bottle of shiraz, put Spartacus (one of the b*e*s*t movies ever!) on the DVD and spent a couple hours making the most complicated meatloaf on the planet. Full of onions, garlic, mustard and many other things Roland won�t eat.

Except he liked it - which was slightly less odd than having �Narr eat my chicken snitzel - but not nearly as bizarre as my Dad calling and asking if we�d go see �Romeo and Juliet� with him. To say my dad is not so much for the theatre, much less Shakespeare, is like saying the Rockies are sorta tall.

One thing we didn�t do, I didn�t work. Now, I want a day to catch up at the office. I�d be content to work all day tomorrow, if I could stay quietly cocooned at home, away from interruptions and my frozen office.

Do you think I�ll get lucky?

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!