powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-12-22 - 10:19 a.m.

Enter pirates

To the Wednesday night production of Pericles goes the award for �best non sequiter ever�. Also the award for �correct use of a bezoar�

Bezoar? says Gen. Is Theo being all smart again?
Mel and Kymber roll their eyes.
I�m putting the lot of you on a reading list! I hurmph. No respect.

In the middle of the second half, the young heroine is fleeing durance vile like Snow White running from the evil queen�s woodsman. (Hey, it�s exactly like that. Did Disney steal?) When suddenly, the narrator walks across the stage, looks and the audience and says, deadpan, Enter pirates.

And pirates burst forth from the wall, completely changing the plot, dragging the heroine away from Certain Doom to Further Danger.

It�s been an Enter Pirates kind of week � where no plan gets completed for the interruptions


Let�s run the highlight backwards.

Today: 82 degrees in my office. Luckily, I had (sigh) meetings all day. Spent less than an hour in the sauna, in broken fifteen minute chunks. Egress meeting only to be sandbagged in the hallway three times with more issue and be late to next meeting. Maintain calm and say comforting things to my team over and over.

Monday: 53 degrees in my office. Ice on the inside of the windows. Luckily, I spent the entire day in another building in (sigh) an all day meeting.

Sunday: All day wrapping fest with pause for Christmasy lunch with Dad and his wife.

Saturday: Slept like rock. Got up late. Read an awesome book. Napppppzzzzzzzzz. Then, evening at Roland�s parents sing (tra-la-la) in their Christmas concert with fabulous opera singer soloing.

Friday: Fought fires for three hours. (Fire bad.) Made me late to the day�s (you guessed it) meeting. It must be admitted I hid in my hardware lead�s office and actively sulked before dragging my ass to another all day meeting. He bore with until the two minute timeout (we have a team rule on how long we can whinge about anything before we have to more to something productive).

Thursday: Party! Booze and too many desserts at office party#2. And, the inaugural performance of Lost Cause�s Victorian Christmas. I still don�t buy it that they didn�t call each other before getting dressed � how else did the sopranos end up perfect in purple and the altos were saucy in red and black?

Wednesday: Half-day meeting. But, the day ended happily with Red, White and Blue booze. Margarita�s before the theatre, then Enter Pirates!

Tuesday: What did I do Tuesday? Oh, yeah, took Orange Chiffon cake to office party#1 where we were all issued iconic rather than actual nametags. I voluntarily tagged myself �Blossom� rather than be at the mercy of the admin staff who was making up sobriquets such as �Cream Puff� and ��clair� for our gay couple.

Monday: I vaguely recollect meetings, but I was happily buoyed by post-latke bliss. Ummmmm. Latkes.


But, tomorrow, we depart for points south and mostly west to visit my Mom. Pray for me, because she called me on the way to the grocery store. Anyone who wants to be prepared for the after Christmas stories, should review the rules of southern food

Me? I'm looking forward to taking my tired fire-bad-tree-pretty brain and spend a few days without interruptions from pirates.

So, y�all have a good holiday season.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!