powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-12-13 - 7:56 p.m.

Latkes!

And, lo, the produce lady spake unto hun-e-b, and she said Buy one, get one free.

And, hun-e-b said But, I don�t want 20 pounds of potatoes.

And, again, the produce angel spoke and said But you get two more free.

(I suppose it�s all kinds of wrong to misquote the annunciation in a story about how I learned to appreciate Jewish food.)

Roland and I were amongst the privileged people who were treated to Latke Day, which is a wonderful event where hours are spent appreciating the miracle of Hanukkah by frying, delicately and reverently, mounds of wonderful potato food.

Ummmmmmmmmmm. Latkes

I, who am Methodist by raisin�, learned more about Hannukah � though I�m fairly certain Daffyd information on the temple virgins was incorrect. I understand the use of oil, after all the lamp did burn for eight days with oil for only one night. Where the applesauce and sour cream figure into it, I�m still a bit fuzzy.

Ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Latkes.

Of course, my cultural background gave the world Whiskey (which is derived from the Gaelic term for �water of life�) � which brings us to that wonderful tradition of Irish coffee.

Roland�s heritage, as he points out this time every year, gave the world Christmas trees. Excuse me, Tanneubaum. (I can�t pronounce German wines either. Lay off.) Of course, they would also clip candles to the tree branches as decorations. And you think today�s Christmas lights are dangerous. Can you imagine the public service messages for Victorian Germany? Thank God for Thomas Edison.


AoD, thanks for the offer of toys. I can always find something to do with cute space toys. But, can't make it that Saturday.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!