powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-10-26 - 9:32 p.m.

Looking up

Apparently, if you lay down this urge to learn about baseball passes.

Sleep and work. Sleep and work - only cleared one room last week. I�m perfecting that skill of compartmentalizing my ire.

Roland is in business trip exile. Pout. Breathe and stretch. Sleep and work.

There you go; that�s my news. Let�s talk about something else.


Gen, is that your guardian squirrel?
Gen glances at the grey squirrel hovering in the cherry tree above our heads, busily gleaning the last of the fruit.

Nah. Mine would be black.

In peaceful silence, we watch the sun set, just a hint of pink in the soft gloaming as the cathedral�s carillon peals.

Hey Gen.
Yeah?
If the squirrel throws cherries at us, I�m blaming you.
That�s fair.

There is a rustle behind the bench, and a black squirrel bustles through the mulch.

Let that be a warning to you all. Threaten not the Bubbles where her guardian squirrel can hear.


Autumn has almost taken almost all the roses from the bishop�s garden, though about a dozen hardy blossoms persevere. Autumn has also brought the choir back to Washington National cathedral, with services in the Great Choir for almost every Evesong.

Evesong, sunset in the squirrel sanctuary (err, cathedral gardens), and another journey to Jerusalem and back (that�s what many pilgrims take the labyrinth to represent).

For me, it�s a way to make myself look up in this darkening season, where light leaves these latitudes and work becomes even more hectic as we face our next deadlines.

Every day, I wonder over and over when to give and when to draw the line, when to help my team and my colleagues and when to force them to help us. Somewhere between my Celtic nature and my Pelican tendencies, lies the answer, which my team once characterized as No, you�re okay. You�re exactly the right mix of nice and asshole.

It�s hard to walk that line. You know, Ni, maybe, this month, judgment is exactly my middle name.

I have one life and one chance to make it count for something � I�m free to choose what that something is, and the something I�ve chosen is my faith. Now, my faith goes beyond theology and religion and requires considerable work and effort. My faith demands � this is not optional � my faith demands that I do whatever I can, wherever I can, whenever I can, for as long as I can with whatever I have to try to make a difference. - Jimmy Carter


Speaking of looking up, the lunar eclipse began about 15 minutes about. I think I�ll find my shawl and some whisky to accompany me to the front stoop.

P.S. Tristan - 50 AU in the scale of my office corner-to-corner representing the length of the solar system.
P.P.S � Cosette, I�ll get back to that veil of mercy.
P.P.P.S � Roland, come home soon. The cat is putting toys in my shoes again.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!