powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-10-20 - 12:29 p.m.

No wonder I can never finish the Sunday crossword

I called Mel.
Are you sitting down?
Yes.
Pause Why?
I watched two innings of baseball last night

Long pause.
Why?
Cause the Yankees and Sox are playing in the series, and the Red Sox are doing this underdog thing �
I say.

Long pause.
I am stunned that you know that.
Yeah, this is going to weird you out the rest of the day.


Okay, I watched the 7th and 8th innings of the game last night. Then, I went to bed, which will prove the apocalypse is not, in fact, over the horizon, cause I wasn�t going to stay up all night to watch the end.

Before this next bit, I want to say in advance I did pass gym class with a B or better.
Oh, sports aren�t my thing, but I played them all in each gym �unit�. Only ever excelled at archery and horse back riding.


Wait, don�t they get three at bats in an inning?
That�s three strikes.
I know that! I�m not a total idiot. But doesn�t each team get three times at their three strikes in each inning?
No.

You know you�ve been married a long time when your husband can verbally pat you on the head and roll his eyes at the same time. Mel says I�m thinking of kiddie league rules where it�s all about everyone getting to try lots.

What does the top and bottom of an inning mean anyway?

Hey, the Sox literally have Red Sox on their uniforms � where did that name come from anyway?

Why don�t the Yankees have their names on their jerseys?

What do you mean you can�t steal on a walk? That�s dumb.

Why are there people in riot gear on the field?

Are they generally this off? All the batters are going to a full count, right? 3 walks and 2 strikes, so they have to do something on their next swing. Or are they just beat from all the games?

The first two fouls are strikes? Wait, what was that bit where he hit a foul, but they made the batter do it over anyway?


Suddenly, it is stunningly clear to me why I can never get the sports clues in the crossword puzzles.

And, hey, before everyone decides to read me the rules of baseball, just remember, I know what I�m interested in � if you want to talk about the fouls of period tournaments, theories on �veil of mercy� rules and where the expression �riding the rail� really comes from � I�m your gal.

I�m just better at baseball when Hollywood fills in the exposition.

Isn't there a White Sox team?
What is with all the socks?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!