powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-06-29 - 9:04 p.m.

How could you get the ducks to wear galoshes?

� so it came to pass that the kind Roland and lively Theodora did travel southward with the lovely Giuliana and her tall husband to the Tournament of Chivalry. Kevin was duly tormented, inner muppet identities were discussed and I spent too much time thinking up suitable Pinky lines.

Brain: Are you pondering what I�m pondering, Pinky?
Pinky: I think so, Brain, but where would the caterpillars put their legs?

Thus it went until we arrived safely at the demesnes of our liege lord and lady, having survived the annoying traffic and successfully made it past the usual signposts on Route 1 south.

Church on Fire!
All girl massage staff. Anyone else occasionally distributed by the surfeit of churches and gentlemen�s clubs along that route?
.

No one killed me for being random, and a lively party we made at Squires Club, punch drunk on fatigue and rich food. I was even fairly patient while son-of-prudish-man expressed dismay that my diary had crossed into slightly lewd topics on the occasion of my tenth wedding anniversary � to which I say -

Sex.
Sexsexsexsexsex.

That bit was for you, Cu. Nah. And it will undoubtably create several um, interesting search hits.


Saturday began tenuously, the skies awash with rain. But the rain clouds passed, leaving that perfect balance of overcast and slightly breezy that combatants find so exhilarating. Alas, the afternoon tipped into sunny and humid, but I passed that time in the hall � trapped by Mistress�s Clare�s treasure trove of books.

Court brought the pleasure of seeing Dameon into the Order of the Golden Dolphin and my sweet Roland join the Order of the Kraken. Even receiving a beautiful Ross&Shrew medallion which does look like a kraken, but is arrayed in a suggestively elongated shaped � which allows me to work in another tawdry reference.

Feast passed in good company of Lucia and Miles (No, Miles, I don�t have pudding. Looking adorably puppy like will not change the fact that I do not have any pudding.) and Kevin and Jake. Let me say, the beef and lamb were just the best. Ummmm. Pickled beef.


Ah, the Shelton clan. So much given, so generously by one family. Get some rest guys. You deserve it.


Sunday was a day of many experiences.

We lingered deliciously in lazy contentment, admiring vacation pictures, pottery, and brass rubbings. The morning slid quietly away, with a brief surreal moment when Cu showed me one of the books he had acquired for the Padraiga. Let me just say Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife leaps wholeheartedly into the aftermath of Elizabeth Bennett Darcy�s wedding.

Also, I learned you should never say Have you read this book? unless you are prepared to participate in a recitation. I fled to the shower somewhere during the prologue, where the author discussed that Jane Austen�s maidenly life had left her ill equipped to truly explore her passionate characters. Kevin�s face was fairly priceless.

Then, a drive northward, where I learned (and promptly forgot) the slang applicable to many varieties of motorcycles. Traffic was icky and the DQ line at the Holy Pilot was so long Kevin was denied his longed for blizzard. Sadness.

But, we made it to Kyna�s about 7:30 and left for Nissan Pavilion for my culture expanding experience of a Tim McGraw concert. On the way, we noticed the tickets had a start time of 7:00, but arriving very late was a good thing, since Mr. McGraw didn�t take the stage until 9.

I swear, I think the only difference between country and rock anymore is country music has more bits about fishing and dogs. Two electric guitars certainly bent the sounds towards the mainstream despite the fiddle and banjo. We shan�t speak of the keyboard player, who was frighteningly androgynous and bore a resemblance to Kato.

In the end, two thumbs up on the show. Excellent and professional.

But, the exit plan, not so good. It took us 90 minutes to exit the parking lot. WTF? I believe this concert series will be my only Nissan Pavilion experience. You shouldn�t spend longer in traffic than at the show.

Next comes Brooks & Dunn, whom I completely unfamiliar with. However, it�s the Kenny Chesney �Guitars, Tiki Bars and a Whole Lot of Lovin� Tour that has me a bit apprehensive. When did Tiki Bars become a country music theme?


Monday and Tuesday have passed in a blur of fatigue from too much weekend fun and too many things to juggle at work.

So, let me fall back on a borrowed funny bit (cause my diary is, apparently, expected to be funny) and tell you of the duckling�s latest adventure:

Our city cat, Puck, moved to Mom�s farm after Roland and I decided replacing the carpet twice was enough. The city cat seems to have adapted nicely.

Friday morning, my mother and my nephew walked to ducklings out for their swim. The rain had deepened the lily pond, and Puddles and Quacker stayed happily in the water while my Mom took the soaking wet nephew back to the house for a change of clothes.

Meanwhile, Puck slinks out to the pond, stalking the ducklings. Sensing danger, they coming waddling across the yard,

Enter our hero, Tommy the painter, who pauses in his work on the front porch to save the fluffy creatures from the cat. Holding the squawking ducklings out of Puck�s reach, Tommy yells for Mom who comes to the front of the house just as Tommy tosses Puddles and Quacker through the dining room window while the cat capers about the porch in confusion. Mom wrestles the frightened and dripping wet ducklings under control while my nephew, clad only his in dry underwear, tries to reach his pets.

I�m very sad there are no pictures. I wonder what painters in the major metropolitan areas charge for duck rescue?


Are you pondering what I�m pondering, Pinky?
I think so, Brain. But, honestly, how could you get the ducks to wear galoshes?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!