powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-07-07 - 12:53 p.m.

Then, the ceiling fell in

Yesterday, my officemate and I moved Pluto and built a tent.

As is the way of the world, a long weekend means torrential rains pound the antiquated office building and, you guessed it, leaks ensue. Yesterday monring, ten ceiling tiles had gone from soothing white to rain drenched brown, with one sagging dangerously, pregnant with water.

Luckily, the government panicked over the Y2K bug and sent it so much plastic sheeting that, years later, we still have it squirreled away. We contrived a rain shed/lean-to over my offiemate's desk until the facilities folks managed to drain the water which had entered through the roof's air intakes.

Pluto, so carefully placed to hang at the correct scale distance, had to be moved before it's supporting ceiling tile collapsed too.

Sigh. Before I die, I would like to work in a state of the art facility. Or at least, a building that doesn't predate my birth.


Harbringers.

The ceiling falls in. When I work on my business plan, the iPod queues up (out of 5000+ songs) "To Dream the Impossible Dream."

This can't be good.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!