powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-01-20 - 9:22 a.m.

Invincible Summer

In the depth of winter, I found there was within me an invincible summer. - Albert Camus.


I think we each have our own Summer Country, someplace patched together from moments of inspiration and peace, passion and poignancy, beauty and terror; moments of perfection, too fleeting for our day to day world.


My moments?

A bridge to Terbithia.
Moments in Gethseamane.
A path through the dark woods of Narnia.
Kane.
My grandfather, a man of faith and generosity.
Camelot.
My grandmother, a strong and wise mountain woman.

This first time I knew I loved Roland.
Driving back roads with Mel, Meatloaf blasting on the radio.
Skydiving with my brother.
Teaching Jenny to light matches.
Drinking wine with Laura.
Angry estrogen rock with Gen.
Falling off T's car.
Teaching my nephew to blow bubbles.
Flying loops through the perfect autumn sky.
Poohsticks in the Hundred Acre Wood.
Launching my first spacecraft, and the sound that summons Godzilla.
Candle in the window.
Sacrifice, alone in the dark.
El Cid.
Fire in the sky and Columbia falling.

Tilting at windmills, for maddest of all may be to see the world as it really is, and not as it should be. ("Man of La Mancha")


I wonder what else is in my invincible summer?

I think I'll head for the hammock at the top of the forest, where (as the Pooh books end) in that enchanted place on the top of the Forest, a little boy and his Bear will always be playing. and work on the list.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!