powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2004-01-15 - 6:53 p.m.

First light

Let's skip the rant about people who don't plan meetings well, and just say I had to stay an extra day in California, where (on the plus side) it finally became sunny California.

Of course, with the advent of sunlight, all the solar scientists I was trying to corner, ran down to the basement to work testing with the first real light in two weeks.

Now, the basement was cool. Stimulation telescopes, optics, theodolites, clean tents, assembly rooms, mechanical models, thermal chambers (mind the liquid nitrogen purge lines to avoid freezer burn) and various free science posters all over the basement.


So, we stayed an extra day - which was at the outset useless, until my colleague and I completely abandoned the meeting to talk to interesting, experienced and useful people about our particular topic.

Light dawned in more than the California sky, as we worked out a bunch of various interfaces.

The people in suits hunted us down twice dragging us kicking and screaming away from Mathcad and back to the meeting - and we're probably in trouble for not marking up the tedious document they want us to produce - but, hey, we have all the correct raw material for the document.

I am now going to go get in a car with crazy mechanical engineers and go to San Fransisco. I hope this is a wise plan.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!