powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-10-06 - 7:43 p.m.

Not a skink

The lizard, for those of you keeping score, was
(a) a skink
(b) did not, in fact, belong to Austin. He hasn�t brought any live animals to work since the rather memorable visit of the sugargliders. Yes, they do look like bats.

Poor Austin. It's not every day that your boss plops a trashcan on your desk with a lizard rattling around the bottom. I swear, you�d think I work in an insane asylum.


Work is currently one big game of dominoes, still slowly falling from when my ex boss and future manager left. Slowly, my team stretches, morphs and reassembles itself as we shift people around to cover the assignments.

I suppose it�s good to have more work than you can manage, but I could take a little boredom.

We should meet with Theo sometime next week. We can figure it out later.
Cough from his colleague. Um. - Given her calendar, we should schedule something now.
Great
I reply. I don�t know whether I feel hunted or popular.
They paused a little too long for my comfort before replying Popular.

Odd to think of being popular when I feel strangely isolated lately.


The weekend was excellent. Too many Stargate DVDs, playing while I folded laundry, paid bills, did a batch of online shopping and sorted out the flotsam of our lives. Errands were run, including a torturous stop by the PetSmart Adoption Center.

Cute kitties. Whimper. I didn�t take home a new fluffy, but it was a near miss since they had the kittens who�d been rescued from behind my building at work. Space cats are hard to resist. Remember that old Disney movie � The Cat From Outer Space? I love that movie, bad 70s clothes and all.

Roland wondered off to MTA on Saturday, arriving home that evening for a steak walkabout with Gen and Alan. (Yum) Gen has got to stop doing the fill in the blank Outback mad libs, though it did bring up the topic of blue fruit. What fruit is truly blue? And I mean really blue, not like blueberries, which are (be honest) purple.


Sunday was a glorious morning enjoying breakfast in bed � pancakes 1.5� thick, yikes, gotta back off on the baking soda. Then the Bubbles picked me up in time for Susan�s baby shower. Monkey baby Olney, coming soon!

My goodness, what a glorious tea, from cucumber sandwiches to the rattle favors. And the baby goodies were adorable. Best of all were the comments.

If you quietly write down what the guest of honor says as she opens each present, you can read it back in the inappropriate out of context meaning �This is what the dad heard the night of conception.�

My favorite was King of the Jungle. Grrr! , closely followed by the one about the dragon.

Can�t wait to meet the baby. What do you call a baby monkey anyway?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!