powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-07-21 - 6:39 p.m.

Sure could use a little good news

Flat. Monday�s at work stomp me flat. Someday, there will be a diatribe about how the pursuit of pure justice impedes progress in the world.

Too tired for that, so let�s focus on good news. Let�s see.


My coworker and his long-time partner eloped to Niagara Falls this weekend, just after Ontario legalized same-sex marriages. About half the division took him out to lunch today. His new spouse missed the party cause he was at home coping with a flooded basement (so much for the honeymoon), but will turn up next week for a division social.

Here�s how I know I work with good people. When the news of the elopement spread on Friday, the most conservative Yankee among us responded That�s great! It�s just a pity they had to jump the country since the US won�t legalize gay marriage. And, why are we waiting? Cause �they� say it�ll hurt the institution of marriage? It won�t hurt my marriage.

Very happy for the newlyweds.


More good news � I was one of the three �surprisees� of a birthday party at Bubbles and Alan�s place Friday night. Happy birthday to me and Thjora. Happy un-birthday to Alan.

(Alan deserves random un-birthday parties cause his actual bday is usually consumed by the hubbub of Pennsic.)

As for me, what I want most for my birthday is people close to me to remember. I don�t need anything more than a Happy Birthday email/phone call/message/card/carrier pigeon. It�s all about love and validation.

Thanks most of all to Bubbles for taking the time and effort to arrange all the sneaking.

Thanks everyone for the lovely gifts.

But, most of all thanks for taking the time to express friendship and felicitations.

Also admiration Kyna�s inventive solution of giving me a separate card from Narr rather than compromising her morals by signing a card where the happy face had a nose.

The truth of how happy faces have noses will have to await another day.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!