powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-03-17 - 1:58 p.m.

Fasten, then zip

Garibaldi: Okay. It's morning. You're getting ready to go to work. You pull on your pants. Do you fasten and then zip or zip and then fasten?

Sinclair: What kind of question is that?

-- Garibaldi and Sinclair, Babylon 5: Babylon Squared


Minutiae of life. Truly fascinating, isn't it?


Why do you want to know?

Why do I want to know? Because I think of these things sometimes. I was getting dressed this morning, for a second, I couldn't remember which I did first. I started thinking about it: does everybody do it the same way? Is it a left-handed, right-handed thing?

You think about this stuff a lot?

Yeah. Look, okay, I'm sorry I asked. You're always so serious all the time. Not every conversation has to be the end of the world as we know it.


I love the Garibaldi character, cause I think about that random little shit.

Like, why do men�s shirts traditionally button on one side and men�s on the opposite? What�s the difference? I always think about this every time I sew.

Which sock do you put on first? I�m right footed. Sometimes, when I idly try the left foot first, it just feels wrong.

Or trying to brush your hair � I always start with one particular side. Things get quite tangled when I try to vary routine.


Fasten, then zip. You?

Fasten-zip.


Let me tell you, the buttoning shirt thing never bothers me, unless I stop and think about it � then suddenly I can�t remember which side they�re supposed to be on.

Roland, to my infinite amusement, always shampoos his hair in a particular fashion. That might qualify as TMI.

[And, hey, Roland came home for Gulf Wars with a 3-day beard. I left him with you people and you sent him home *scruffy*! He blames Cuan, who complained Roland shaving made the rest of them look bad. Slackers.]


How much longer?

One hour, fifty-seven minutes. . . You wanna talk socks?

No!

It's just a question.

I'm not having this conversation.


Concentrating on distracting and irrelevant minutae is strangely comforting in the face of impending war.

Pardon me, but I have to go skip the CD past the sad Irish soldier songs now.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!