powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2003-03-18 - 8:31 p.m.

Could someone who�s had less caffeine translate?

A couple of us, we�ve got this idea, we, um, use solar sails, and big mylar things whoosh out and, then

I think someone�s who�s had less caffeine better explain this. Doc, could you please translate? - dialogue from the movie Armageddon


Funny things said on the way to an engineering design �

�I don�t understand this logic. Rather than prototype with a part no one will use, pick one that at least half the people are upset about.�

In the heat of arguments and mad philosophy ask �what is a real risk, anyway�: �That�s not a risk. It�s been downgraded to a fear.�

�We ask and ask about that box interfaces, and every time it changes radically and, then, oh no, it�s the Poseidon adventure all over again.�

In the category of things best left unsaid in software/hardware interface meetings: �Well, that takes intelligent software.�

Runner up to the crazy promise �And that will come with a limited amount of huge disk space.�

�We should change our baseline rate sensor. I�ve heard a lot of �anti-sunshine� concerning the manufacturing process of our first pick.� [Thanks, guys � how do I write that into a risk?]

Under the heading too much honesty was when I said �Hell no!� with my outside voice to �So, I�ve made this [incredibly complicated] example of how to present your schedule. Who wants a copy to [spend five hours] filling in?� Yeah, they are still ribbing me about that and I still have to write the damn schedule.

�We can give in that area. It�s part of the everything on the table, all love management style.�

�Propellant, not fuel. Propellant, not fuel. Don�t call it fuel. [gasp for breath.] Sorry, everyone, but I�m going to say that once a week for the next five years.� Our poor propulsion experts trying to correct terminology.

The award for most unique question on ground data interfaces goes to �So we know how to talk to them when they do their groove thing?�

�You don�t scare me. I�ve got a bigger Dogbert.� Wins for strangest threat I�ve gotten this week.

Concerning my habitual nickname for our star electronics designer �Wally? That�s too informal. You can�t call him Wally. He�s a legend. You can�t call a legend Wally.� [Why not? He doesn�t care.]

�Isn�t 0% margin kind of a misnomer?�

Last, the penultimate description of my work lately: �This is exactly what happened to Spinal Tap with Jazz Odyssey�


Gotta top off the diet coke and work on dynamics analysis for tomorrow.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!