powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2002-09-11 - 4:24 p.m.

Ceremonies of innocence

I'm going to the grocery store, sweetie. Do you need anything?
I look at Roland. World peace.


The anniversary is strangely disconcerting. Inside my head the memories race, keeping pace with my busy day.

Things fall apart; the center cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world,

I go through my day, but inside I think about how much we�ve lost. Lives gone forever. Mostly, I�m wistfully angry at our loss of innocence.

The blood-dimmed tide is loosed, and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;

A year and a day ago I lived in a safer world. A year and a day ago I didn�t break down during reruns of Delta-Force.
A year ago, I waited in frantic stillness for my husband to coming home from downtown Washington DC, not knowing where he was or what was coming next.

A year ago, we were taken off guard and victimized by lunatics who blindly hate what they do not know.

The best lack all conviction, while the worst
Are full of passionate intensity.

In a strange way, I pity them, these terrorists who are fed nothing but hatred from the time they can comprehend speech. Humans have a near infinity capacity for love, dedication and sacrifice. In these fanatics, humankind�s highest potential is perverted to a horrible conclusion.

And what rough beast, its hour come round at last
Slouches towards Bethlehem to be born?

excerpts from Yeats The Second Coming


Today, I rework spacecraft structure, analyze energy dissipation, troubleshoot a failing solar array. Yet, I feel strange divorced from the self that is working so efficiently.

I feel raw and vulnerable.

Perhaps that isn�t bad.


Have you ever sat sauna?

Heat and steam open the pores. Impurities are released. Muscles relax. Then, you leave the steam room and plunge into the shock of any icy steam.

You emerge from the shock feeling whole and alive.

Wonderful alive.

I choose to take back those innocent pleasures lost, to fight the terror by savoring life and reaching out to those I love, to remember what is really important in life. �

If I Had My Life to Live Over

by Erma Bombeck

I would have talked less and listened more.

I would have invited friends over to dinner even if the carpet was stained and the sofa faded.

I would have eaten the popcorn in the good living room and worried much less about the dirt when someone wanted to light a fire in the fireplace.

I would have taken the time to listen to my grandfather ramble about his youth.

I would have burned the pink candle sculpted like a rose before it melted in storage.

I would have sat on the lawn with my children and not worried about grass stains.

I would have cried and laughed less while watching television and more while watching life.

I would have gone to bed when I was sick instead of pretending the earth would go into a holding pattern if I weren't there for the day.

I would never have bought anything just because it was practical, wouldn't show soil or was guaranteed to last a lifetime.

There would have been more I love yous ...more I'm sorrys

... And to always, always end with hope.

I visualize the majesty, peace and sanctity of St. Chappelle. In my mind, I return to that moment, sitting inside a box of pure light, listening to the strains of music echoing through the sanctuary.

Kyrie Elison.

And God bless us all, each and every one.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!