powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2002-02-21 - 6:38 p.m.

Alphabet soup

Engineers speaks in acronyms. Each new assignment is like learning an entire new language. Oh, wait, I have three new assignments simultaneously. As if learning all the names weren't enough.

So I finished my four meetings and now I'm lying on the couch reading. Today's topic is NGST (Next Generation Space Telescope).

Six pages of acronyms. But that's not the ironic part. The sad thing is over half the acronyms I try to look up are not in the index.

FPE - floating point electronics? Focal plane electronics? EPR - engineering peer review? Electrostatic phase reduction?

Padraiga is with me - she also trying to learn the language and alphabet soup of her new job. Misery loves company, eh?


Gosh, the cat looks so comfy curled up on the pile of 'already ready' documents. I think I'm in the wrong end of this relationship. Housecats sleep 14 hours a day, you know.

I wonder about our cat. Roland dropped his rapier in the floor last night and Garibaldi curled up next to it and stared at the blade for half an hour.

The Cat and the Foil. Sounds like a pub name Purr and Slash?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!