powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2002-02-13 - 3:24 p.m.

Stick Figure Kung-Fu

Okay, so nobody knows why it's called Squirrel Level road, but there's a variety of theories posted in my guestbook.

I'm sorry Gen and Roland didn't get the memo about the chocolate-peanut butter-cake-of-death. It's not my fault. I blame, I blame, � um, Padraiga? Somehow, I'm sure I'm not off the hook. I made peanut butter pie week before last?

And, Colin, don't help Roland. (Though what 'caudal' has to do with the 'rolled up newspaper of justice' I just don't know. Caudal like 'caudal fin'? Maybe that was supposed to be cavil/quibble. But it's funnier this way. Maybe Colin meant coddle. Nah, not coddle - I like being coddled.)

(And they cancelled the live action "The Tick!" TV show. Paint me bitter.)


And speaking of learning something every day, here's my new word�

prolix

1. Tediously prolonged; wordy: editing a prolix manuscript.

2. Tending to speak or write at excessive length.

� cause I tend to write long (yet fascinating, I'm sure they're fascinating) entries.


I'm glad I learned the term 'MEGO' yesterday, because I am now up to my as* in technical documents.

My boss and almost-boss (it's too complex to explain) finally decided what to do with me.

I spend half my time doing the job I wasn't sure I wanted. I think it will be fun, but I'm glad I won't be stuck there long term.

I spend half my time doing (YES!) GNCC systems work on the new spacecraft we're building. A job I want. A job that will be fun and challenging. A job that will slowly absorb more and more of my time and free me from the other project.

And I spend 20% of my time on a proposal/procurement review - which is fun as long as exposure is limited. [Yeah, that adds up to 120% of my time being used. Managers forget how to do math.]

Oh, and since I�m starting three new projects all at the same time, I have to learn three new rounds of titles/names/roles. Never thought I'd actually be happy to see an org chart, but I have them taped up so I can figure out which project the person on the other end of the phone is associated with rather than looking like a total idiot. All I can say, is jeez, can we stop hiring people named Dave, Bill, or John? (Kidding.) No wonder I call half my co-workers by their last names.

All in all, I'm quite pleased, except now I have a pile about a foot thick of technical documents to read. (Drowning, blub, blub, blub - MEGO, MEGO, MEGO)


Did y'all like the Samuri Bunny? Well, try my coworker's return link -

[Disco beat of 'everyone was kung-fu-fighting' swells � ]

Fighting stick figures!!!!

Are you done? Now don't you have this HUGE urge to go see the Shao-lin Warriors this weekend?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!