powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2001-09-12 - 5:28 p.m.

A Firefighter's Prayer

When I am called to duty, God wherever flames may rage, give me the strength to save some life whatever be its age.

Help me to embrace a little child before it is too late, Or save an older person from the horror of that fate.

Enable me to be alert hear the weakest shout and quickly and efficiently to put the fire out.

I want to fill my calling and to give the best in me, To guard my every neighbor and protect their property.

And if according to your will I have to lose my life, Please bless with your protecting hand my children and my wife.

-Author Unknown


Two hundred missing firefighters in the rubble of the World Trade Center.

God bless the police, firefighters, military personnel, doctors, EMTs, search and rescue teams who have given their lives so that other's may live, who continue to risk their lives shifting the rubble, hoping to hear the weakest shout.


My brother is a paramedic, an EMT. My sister-in-law is terrified he might go to New York City, leaving her and my 13 month old nephew behind, risking his life, as he has so often, that others get the care they needs. He had run in and out of burning buildings, gotten shot at, punched, cursed and ridiculed. Emergency work is so often thankless, especially to the volunteers who fund their own training and given their own time.

Yet he still answers the call. I love him. I'm proud of him. Is it selfish that I hope he won't be needed? That he can stay home safe with his family? I have to call again tonight to see if he's staying home.

Bless the families who have lost sons and daughters, husbands and wives. We will not let their sacrifices be in vain. America will get through this If the authorities permit, I will be back at work tomorrow, on a government installation. I will not live in fear.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!