powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2001-07-24 - 12:11 p.m.

I spent way too late at work last night and tonight looks much the same. I should wrap this frantic work up by Wednesday evening. In the meantime, little sleep for me.

I�m spending my quick lunchtime reading diaries and cleaning up the browser links � you know, the places you bookmark and mean to get around to reading someday? I tripped over the Banned Books Week website.

Odd how I tripped over this the same week Balynar�s talking about people trying to censor TV shows.

What�s really shocking is the list of books.

Check the Top 100 Banned Books of 1990-1999. This list includes some of my *favorite* books, such as Bridge to Terabithia, A Wrinkle in Time (both Newberry award winners � what do people want?). To Kill a Mockingbird, all the Harry Potter books. Pillars of the Earth is on the list.

They have stuff on this list like A Light in the Attic (People are after Shel Silverstein poetry?) and James and the Giant Peach. For the love of �. Where�s Waldo is on the list! I find hunting Waldo tedious, but to ban it? What the heck?

Ironically, Farenheit 451 is *not* on the list.

I don�t know what this says about me, but I�ve read over half these �banned� books, and I�m feeling motivated to read the other half of the list.

Who are �They� to ban books anyway? People who are afraid ideas will contaminate them somehow don�t have very strong convictions.

Who controls the information, controls the world.

Cry freedom, defy the conservatives, and read a book.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!