powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2002-05-29 - 8:33 a.m.

Three-kite day

Off-kilter.

Lovely weekend. I hid myself in my sewing room, except for brief forays to dinner, and sewed. And sewed. And sewed. I love sewing.

The sewing room overlooks the heavily forested backyard, giving me a view into the treetops. A reddish squirrel sat on the branch outside the sewing room window most of the weekend chittering at me. They make a lot of noise opening those nuts.

Solitude. Just the sound of a sewing machine and the tape reading me Ayn Rand's Atlas Shrugged. Never read it before. Anti-communist, intriguing, heroic, mundane, romantic, poignant - very, very cool book. Eight tapes later I'd made a houppelande, a couple boxstons, some hoods, an Elizabethan shirt, an underdress�

But Tuesday comes, bringing the virtual Monday of the work week.

TC stops me with the news my coworker Budney, had a heart-attack over the weekend. Collapsed at his niece's wedding reception. My division chief goes to work tracking down information on the hospital and family.

I am so distracted I am late for my 9:30 meeting. I'm never late for meetings just because I forget.

At 10:30, Lam calls Mary out of the room. Out of the corner of my eye, I see her collapse in the hallway. We all sit frozen for a moment until I get up and ask Lam.

But we all already knew. I walk back in and say Budney passed away this morning. Long silence. Long frozen silence. I think we're done here. We drift out of the room like shadows.

Most of the people in that room knew Budney for 20+ years. He attended their weddings and held their children and mentored them in their craft. I'd only known him well for a few years, but it was still odd. And jarring.

I go about my lunch errands with that slightly disconnected feeling. Standing in line at the post-office behind the requistive screaming baby, hurrying to put together information for another afternoon telecom. Spreading the news to various co-workers about Budney. More not-yelling at Canada.

After work bring more errands, shopping for nephew [very frustrating size hunt] and banking [long wait, clueless teller] and going to acquire my Mom's retirement gift which they didn't have so [long tedious conversation with stubborn salespeople] I have to drive somewhere else today to acquire it.

It was a three-kite day.

You know, the kind of aimlessly tired and depressed feeling you get after crashing three kites in one day.

If you called me last night and I was spacey, I apologize.

I stopped this morning and got a hot chai, just to have something warm to fill out the empty spots. I think it's working.

Work. Best antidote for being off-kilter. Work.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!