powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2002-04-11 - 11:42 a.m.

Honor is what you do when no one is looking.

When Atlantia was a pay-to-play Kingdom, at least twice a month I had fighters begging me to ignore the rules for them 'just this once' because 'no one will ever know. I'll never tell.'

I hate it when people say that about anything.
I would know.
I would know I had not held to my principles.
I would know that, despite all the public lip service, I had not stood for my beliefs.

I never caved.
I can't prove it to you. No one witnessed this incidents. But I know and I feel better about myself for it.

Forgal taught me that Fealty is about doing the right thing, not the easy thing.

So I would say to the pleading fighters "It's not that I don't want to help you, but I gave oath to uphold the laws of Atlantia." Some people found this strange, some thought it was unreasonable, some found it admirable. I simply found it one small and necessary thing I could do to keep my promises.

And the world will be better for this:
That one man, scorned and covered with scars,
Still strove with his last ounce of courage

-The Impossible Dream, Man of la Mancha

Does this mean I'm always perfect and steadfast? A gentle and parfait paragon?

[self-ridiculing laughter] No. Are you high? Her name was Mother Teresa...

But I try.

And the struggle makes me a better person. I'll live in the delusion that it makes this place a better world.

Though we may disagree on some things amongst our gentle company, I have generally found members of our Society to be a group of people who like tilting at windmills.

Even if we can't defeat our dragons, the effort ennobles us all.

The made-up things seem a good deal more important than the real ones. Suppose this black pit of a kingdom of yours is the only world. Well, it strikes me as a pretty poor one. And that's a funny thing, when you come to think of it. We're just babies making up a game, if you're right. But four babies playing a game can make a play-world which licks your world hollow. That's why I'm going to stand by the play-world. I'm on Aslan's side even if there isn't any Aslan to lead it. I'm going to live as like a Narnian as I can even if there isn't any Narnia.
- Puddlegum, C.S. Lewis's The Silver Chair.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!