powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2001-11-01 - 5:05 p.m.

I'm so not a jelly girl.

Non-sequiters of my week:

The waiter dressed in a gorilla suit brings Laura and I mints after our Halloween susami-fest. I look at the simple candy mint, a staple at Southern afternoon parties, and say Yum. Pure sugar. Laura: They are quite good, aren�t they? The best are the ones with jelly in the middle. Me: I�m so not a jelly girl Laura: That�s okay � we like you anyway.

Me on the phone to a co-workers as we�re trying to get the printer queue on the Unix mainframe back online - I just can�t get the nichols to connect to tofuhut. Pause. You know, that has to be the strangest sentence I�ve assembled in a week.

Me to my husband, during the ever evolving story of how to get all the stuff to Crown tournament So if you lend Alan your car, cause Mel�s taking Alan�s truck full of gear and leaving in time to set it up during the daylight, but Alan�s staying home cause he�s injuried, but Alan can�t drive Mel�s stick shift � so if you lend Alan Casper the Car, Gen can take her Scarlett explorer, which has room for the gear she needs to take rather than Gen driving Mel�s truck � did you get all that? I feel I should draw a diagram. This is really like a soap opera, isn�t it? What should we call it? As the truck turns? As the gear goes? As �?

Roland: As the gear grinds.


Last night for Halloween, I met some of the Lochmere for Japanese (finally satisfying my susami craving!) for dinner and a movie. I hate Columbia � lovely planned community, so frickin� planned everything is hidden behind tress and impossible to find. I always get lost in Columbia. It�s karma. It�s a mental block. Columbia hates me.

So, In a moment of triumph, I found the restaurant. We had a nice dinner as the Japanese steakhouse � the staff was all in costume and I swear the chef dress in a chicken suit was about to burn the fake fur off his body with the grill flames. Fried chef chicken.

But, I knew this was too good to last. I got lost between the restaurant and the theatre. Luckily, Mel was standing in front of the theatre with her cell phone and guided me in.

We went to see Thir13en Ghosts, which was a fine movie. Not great, not terrible, just fine.

I was extremely grateful the annoyingly cute 8 year old with a scooter and a lisp and his teenage priss of sister were off-screen for most of the movie. Tell you, I was praying for that kid to buy it.

So let me check your opinions on the following:

-If you were an 8 year old in a strange house with whispery voices and flickering images calling your name would you (a) follow them slowly down the stairs into a really dark basement (b) run screaming for your daddy or (c) sit down and cry in place. I vote (b). My nephews would probably take choice (c)

~If you were searching for your lost child in the basement, would you decide to split up in a house where the walls are moving and people are getting thrown around?

~If you only have two pairs of spectral viewers that let you see the ghosts and you were one of the intrepid adventuring party *not* wearing the spectacles would you (a) duck whenever the ghost-vision enabled members of the group said duck or (b) give them a lot of lip about not telling you what to do. The characters in the movie mostly voted (b) � which I guess is because otherwise they wouldn�t have had much of a dialogue.

~If you were a ghost hunter on the biggest hunt of your life, would you only bring six of the protective quiksilver flares?


I think what I love is clever suspense more than slasher horror. The gore level is irrelevant to me as long as it�s important to the plot. Gore for the sake of gore bores/repulses me. (I rented Phantasm and watched it in 30 minutes because I fast forwarded through all the gore parts that bored me.)

Roland, who is completely uninterested in horror genre, helped Helena return the Lochmere feast gear, where they got adults treats of home-made cordial. There were still outside enjoying the lovely weather when I made it home, so we sat around and chatted till about 11:30.

Which meant I didn�t make it to bed till midnight, a bad thing, since I was up until 2 am the night before doing fighter cards. So I slept very late today, didn�t make it to work until 9 am, so I�ll be here till 6 or 7 finishing up a few action items.

It�s all good. I have tomorrow off to spend with my husband driving down to Crown. Should be gorgeous weather for a drive and a nice time with my spouse.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!