powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2002-11-20 - 9:39 a.m.

Round ears

Do I look like I have pointy ears?

Confused look from my senior engineers.

I am neither a human computer called a Vulcan, nor a magical elfin creature. I have finite time and resources. My only senior analyst is absent most of this week - so I have to pick up the slack; my lead is too busy with other assignments do the status work you requested; my flight lead's mother died yesterday so I have to prepare his material, give me a break; and you won't see the technology material because my hardware lead had a baby sitting emergency. The propulsion lead is preoccupied with his new job, so I also have to coordinate all the tank design work.


Let's do math.

I have 30 hours of engineering work to do before I can write up my status material.
Status material is due Monday, 9 am.
I plan (health permitting - which is an entire different bit of whining*) to take Friday off for travel to Lucia's wedding. That means there are (theoretically) 16 work hours left in my week. So that puts me at at 16-30 => 14 hours short to finish the work.

Oh, but wait, at no notice I've got three meetings today (another 3 hours gone) to go over what I'm going to be presenting => Did we loose track of the 30 hours I need to do the work so asking me for results today is a bit dumb?

Crazy people. I work with crazy people.

*And the weird limpy ankle injury has greatly aggravated my pre-existing back injuries - the truth is since I can't feel bits of my legs and back I should probably be home in bed, not hauling ass through 14 hour days.

Truly, I usually thrive on days like this. I signed up for days like this - but [skip long boring detailed story about my work] this particular activity should *not* be causing all thismadness.

They are so overreacting.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!