powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-11-14 - 9:04 p.m.

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

Two funny things from my day.


My physical therapy waiting room features aged magazines or afternoon talk shows on a TV with antiquated antenna reception. In the choice between Dr. Phil arbitrating 'Sisters at War' through the static and Family Circle's holiday issue (only magazine with an '06 date), I went with the 'easy holiday decor'.

Across the glossy, seductive picture of the perfect holiday mantle trimmed in pine cones and glass balls, the bold outtake quote proclaimed:

The female pine cone is fatter and has tougher scales than its male counterpart.

Now the article won't really be life-changing for me as I don't own a glue gun but I laughed for ten minutes for no reason I can really explain.


My colleague put a picture on his door yesterday.

In it, he's standing in the midst of our spacecraft structure garbed in cleanroom gear and peering out between the struts of the frustrum.

Across the picture, he's pasted in:

But that I am forbid
To tell the secrets of my prison-house,
I could a tale unfold whose lightest word
Would harrow up thy soul, freeze thy young blood,
Make thy two eyes, like stars, start from their spheres,
Thy knotted and combined locks to part
And each particular hair to stand on end,
Like quills upon the fretful porpentine:

When I caught up with him in the late afternoon meeting I passed him a note saying Hamlet?. And we giggled quietly like guilty children.

Can you believe they let us play with huge budgets and high explosives?


Let's just say work is busy. And, um, well.
Well, people have resorted to quoting Shakespearean tragedy.

But I am forbid to tell the secrets of my prison house...

Eventually, I'll get around to moving this thing to livejournal.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!