powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2001-10-26 - 8:50 a.m.

One tequila, two tequila, three tequila, �. More!

The agony of maturity. Jim and Scott (two of my co-workers) pick me up for a 1-2 pm lunch and comic shopping. Gorgeous day for a drive-about down to College Park. Greek food at Marathon Deli and a trot over to the comic shop. I fill in several holes in the world of Elfquest. [I can lend you those, says Jim. That is so not the point.] Got the trade on the other Dark Phoenix half of the X-Men classic Phoenix saga. Found all the Midnight Nation I needed to be up to date and put the Stracyzski Spiderman trade on order.

I sound like a rabid fan-boy, but the truth is I hardly ever read comics anymore, so it's nifty to have a few titles to follow - especially when there are in a series and will end. It was a lovely late lunch activity. However, I am now stuck at my desk starring at (a) a pile of a dozen test reports - b.o.r.i.n.g and (b) a pile of comics I've never read.

This is a truly agonizing test of maturity. Stay good, Theo. Stay good Put the comics in the desk drawer.


Gwen and I have been trying to have dinner together for weeks and weeks, but finding a mutually acceptable evening was nearly impossible. Finally, we decide on drinking Thursday night, which was last night. Thanks to the suggestion of Gen, our cruise director, we decide to meet at On the Border in Rockville which is vaguely in the middle between Gwen and me.

I IM Kymber before leaving work. "Still good for tonight?" "Oh yeah, after the week I've had, I'm all about tequila." "You can always bring Rags as the designated driver and leave him at the bookstore with the comfy chairs�" Laughter.

I pick Gen up after work - poor sniffly Gen fighting off the evil cold. Alan: No dancing on the table which does allow for dancing on the chairs. Gotta check the fine print. Alan knows what Kymber and tequila do to Gen. Kymber, tequila, bad, very bad. So many of Gen's lost hours begin, "And then Kymber showed up with a bottle of tequila�" Remember the Judgment of Paris Pas d'Armes? Gen and Kymber the Saturday night giggle twins?

We meet Gwen, Kymber, Mel and Cindy about 7:30. After the survey establishes Gen (already high on cold medicine and only up for one margarita) and Cindy are our designated drivers, the rest of us order the first round of Gold Rocks Margaritas.

Margarita's at On the Border are dangerous. Gen and Mel stopped here once to get a drink before heading to the tattoo parlor - and Galmr and Webb got them so many rounds they just never made it out of the restaurant.

After we obtain margaritas, we begin considering tequila shots. Shots sound good - Gwen needs a few shots. Hey! squeaks Gwen When did this become get Gwen drunk night? Our waiter is so amused/frightened by us, he brings us the first round on him. Gwen eyes the shots doubtfully.

Let the barracuda night training begin.

Mel: Just remember - Lick it. Slam it. Suck it. Like any man would, the waiter feels the need to leave at this point. Knock back the shot. The lime makes Gwen's eyes get very big. Oh, ow. My ears are warm now.

We order food and discuss Mel's house search, how we are so not up to the Snow Cat and the Snake women standards and need to train for Pennsic barracuda, how everybody's job is going, �. And all the other things chicks talk about when guys are out of the room. � which I'll leave to your imagination cause that is part of the estrogen tsunami pact - What's said in the bus, stays in the bus� though you gotta admit Kymber spends a lot of time saying things aren't her fault.

But we know there are many good friends far away, so Kymber gets out her cell phone and calls Padraiga. Cuan is very confused why she keeps saying hello as the cell phone travels around the table. Yeah, we're all about trying to weird out the Coo.

Another round of shots.

Cell phones and drinking are chancy things. The only time I've ever been almost in a bar fight was in Tanegashima, Japan - the restaurant from the lobster story (which I guess I should post sooner or later.) The drunk Japanese guy took great offense that the Americans didn't speak sufficient Japanese to make him happy. The guys were set for a fight, but we pointed our Maureen was six months pregnant and we were guests and representatives of the U.S. government and could we just not.

To make peace, the Japanese guys insisted we leave messages in English on all his friends answering machines to prove he'd met Americans. And then they started calling back. Having a cell phone conversation in Japanese while tipsy � I have no idea what that was all about. But the restaurant did serve the best tempura on this planet.

Mel decides to call Robert Dearath, so the cell phone again gets passed around the table. Gwen thinks it's my sweet Roland and talks to Robert like he's Roland. By the time the phone gets to Cindy, whom he's never even met, Dearath is very confused. It's good for him. Gwen - drink some more water before that next shot.

Pause for a part of the herd to go to the bathroom. Hey, Gwen, honey - get the toilet paper off your shoe. Cindy: Hey, Gen, don't you love being sober? Gen: Well, on the cold medicine, I'm really only so here.

Mel: Okay, next time the waiter comes back, I'm either asking his name or dubbing him Pepe

Pepe! we all cheer - because we like the name and Roland is determined is shall not be the name of his car, which is currently being called Casper. The waiter doesn't like it either. His name was Nick. Can I get you ladies anything else? Kymber points at Gwen She needs another shot. Murrrph! squeaks Gwen.

We call Joe, just to tell him we're taking good care of the Gwen, and she's safe, and her ears are very warm, and she has a designated driver. I don't think this reassures him.

More margaritas.

Waiter boy gives us and just brings us a pitcher of water. Gwen, shoe, toilet paper, again. Conversation moves to the areas most people think we're too lady-like to discuss.

Another round of shots? Sure!

I think Kymber or Gen decides to call Byrom, but Byrom is safely asleep in his bed so we talk to Balynar! Hi Balynar! Hope that was a sufficient non sequiter for your evening. Just as Balynar hangs up, Ragnarr calls to see if his Kymber is alive and well. Hi Narr! Wonder what I said to Narr... I remember a lot of I see

Is it bad they had to bring the last round of shots in a wine glass because we were there so long they ran out of shot glasses? Salt just doesn't stick to the rim of the wine glass quite right.

This is really a sign that we need to break up the wonderful party cause we all have to work tomorrow. Wow, Gwen's under some delusion that she's picking up donuts bright and early for the office. Kymber and Cindy will get her home safely to her Joe.

What a ripping good time. We need to do that way more often. Why didn't we call Keegan? He's always in charge of herding tequila laden women.

Gen drives Casper back to her place and we pull in just as Alan gets back from Last Chance - perfect timing. She gives me the keys and I drive homeward where I find the sick Roland all asleep on the sofa. I send him up to bed and spend a few minutes reading my new comics before I hit the hay a little after midnight.

Up and off to work by 6:30, leaving the sick Roland still in warm bed with the purring cat. I wish�.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!