powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2001-08-23 - 3:12 p.m.

Other News From the Front

So that was the story of my fluffy ponytail. I may never live that down, but I will always try to laugh at myself.


Randomly cool things that happened at War:

Staying up talking to Ragnarr till 3 am. I love talking to Rags - it's bad from my sleep quota, since Ragnarr is a cat who lives in the eternal present so time and sleep mean nothing to him - but I really enjoy it anyway.

Dinner with Magpie Tidings � Kyneburh cooking is very good (STC at War!) and the company of the camp is just grand. I don�t get enough time to hang with Kymber, James and Anna.

Camping with Vair and Ermine. I really enjoy my camping group a losely associated bunch of Syr Corbie's, Count Thorbrandr, Earl Amalric household. These are folk I don't get to hang out with often enough. And they are so good I never managed to take the trash out once this War. I did get the bag changed, but it was gone to the dump before I finished putting the new trashbag in the kitchen can.

Getting a *great* bead necklace from Ulric the Fox. He commissioned his lady Eflethwade (which I am definitely spelling wrong) to make me a present after I volunteered to help him MoL his first event at Storvik Novice. Just the thing for Viking.

Cooler water. If you don't know this trick - drain the cooler ice melt into a dish pan and soak your feet. Talk about lowering your core temperature almost instantly. Also leads to interesting afternoon frivolity as three people try to share one soaking pan. Corbie has big feet, don�t�cha know.

Caroline�s birthday and Seonaid�s tea. I wandered by the French Quarter and accidentally discovered both one evening. Got to hang with my Emma and enjoy great songs and good company and did I mention Seonaid tea? Also got to freak Damien out when he kept wandering into his pavilion to talk to Emma and I � "I�m sorry Damien, we�re just not going to have sex with you right now, but you can get us some tea." It�s hard to nonplus Damien.

Shopping - really, I'm a biblophile. My main buy this year was books and I keep finding more books as I finish unpacking. It�s like getting a present all over again.

I scored a great book on Italian Frescoes. I originally looked at it for Gen: Hmmm. Gen would really like this book, I should tell her about it. Flip a few more pages. You know, I really should just go get Alan to buy this for her - wonder if he's still at Darkwood? Flip a few more pages. Forget Gen - I'm buying this book for me! Hey, I�m only so noble. Don't worry, Gen, I'll give Alan the ISBN for Christmas shopping. And the introduction says there's a volume two I'll have to track down.

I also found a new translation of Lull which hopefully isn't based on Caxton's work but more on the original. It's a period tournament handbook which makes me excited. Hey, it's my obsession and I'm okay with it. At least I do not have blue and gold issues. Sad, but true story - when we went to see a "Knight's Tale" and Gen's flinching at the garb and Roland's wincing at the armor, I lean over to my companions and say "Does anyone care they are scoring it correctly?"

[Ulrich von Liechenstein (the hero of that movie) was, by the way, a 'real' tourneyer. There are two German manuscripts (Manasse Codex) covering his 'Arthur journey' and his 'Venus journey'. The Venus journey is when Ulrich rode around Europe dressed as a woman, breaking a lance with any who challenged him. They left that bit out of the movie. There's much debate anyway on whether these two manuscripts describe real events or are dramatic novelizations but the pictures are cool. I�ll stop tourney-geeking now.]

The Scotch party � Our camp had a Scotch tasting party the first Friday of War. The game was for serious Scotch drinker � admission is a bottle of single malt to put on the bar and we�ll try them all. That was a kickin� good time and we should consider doing it again.

My best quotes of the War. Leaving Towerhearth encampment after Nikulai�s proteging and yelling back over my shoulder to Nia, "Remember, assume a spherical woodchuck" and leaving Nia stuck to explain that one. Closely followed by my reply to watching Galmr nearly fall out of Kymber�s chair in my vigil - "Party rules are if you can�t operate the chair, maybe you should just lie on the floor." Love the Galmr � should it disturb me he says we think alike?

Corbie in his bright neon shorts and a period wool hat sleeping in front of his tent. The things he does when Thjora�s not there.

The Privateer party was way cool. Good company, great music. Hey, Isobel, can you sing �Maui� for me?

Discussing sewing machines with Keegan, because it�s a decidedly odd thing to discuss with someone in full armor.

Two great classes on 14th century dress and accessories � details for the serious costumer. Thanks to Lady Raella from the Midrealm for the great class and excellent handouts. Thanks for helping convince people cotehardies don�t have to be plain linen with no embellishment.

Watching Roland head for opening procession armed with a spear and parasol. Yay for the only guard clever enough to bring his Princess shade and a spare fan.

Greek food. Double meat gyros � ummmmmmmm. And the bread bowls place being open on land grab day.

Mary-Grace and Havordh�s new pavilion �because he cleverly engineered the poles so he can put up the 20�x30� by himself and because the poles are stripy!

Tanwyn and Cynwrig getting engaged. Woo-hoo! Susannah Gray and David getting engaged! Woo-hoo!

Meeting most of Drachenwald Royal as they came to borrow our camp showers. Farthest travelled award goes to the lady who came from South Africa. They brought chocolate and lots of splendid alcohol!

Making Kevin�s vigil special � setting up the tent and major thanks to my household sister Minna for doing the on-site on the lovely hospitality spread. And yay for my stylin� blue and gold Great Court outfit which everyone (Gen, Jake) but Kevin thought was too bright.

Viscount Syr Wulfbrandr pulling his baby daughter around Pennsic in a lace-canopied wagon. That, my friends, is the definition of irony.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!