powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-10-23 - 11:38 a.m.

Unexpected Pod

Pod-Blue and Pod-Red always call me when random things happen to them, so if I were a pod person, I guess I�d be the Pod-Unexpected. Like the persimmon tree that turned up in Padraigin�s yard; I spent an entire morning getting text messages about that one:

Theo, how do you know if a persimmon is ripe?
Why are you asking?
Because we, apparently, have a persimmon tree in our yard.
Suddenly, a persimmon tree among all the pines? Like it snuck in under the cover of darkness, leapt the fence and planted itself?

Meanwhile, I�m trying not to crack up so I won�t have to explain myself to my colleagues. The last time I did that they ended up dancing and helping with FFT music filter math. No good comes of explaining.


Speaking of pods, it�s the fifth anniversary of the iPod, you know. So here�s my made-up quiz for the day (let�s see how many people answer it, or even cross-post it):

What are the most unexpected things on your iPod/in your music collection? You know, stuff people would be surprised that you own.

After deciding not to count the Steve Winwood nor Phil Collins collections Roland brought to our marriage and the music collection, here�s my list:

9. Your Body Above Me. Black Lab.
8. When All is Said and Done. Octane. (If you haven�t heard of them; look them up.)
7. All the Mercedes Lackey Valdemar filk. (I was fourteen; there were cool white horses on the book covers. Leave me alone.)
6. Unchained Melody. The Righteous Brothers.
5. The Champion. Carmen
4. The Great Subconscious Club. K�s Choice.
3. Hot. Squirrel Nut Zippers
2. White Pepper Ice Cream. Cibo Matto.
1. What This World Needs is a Few More Rednecks. Charlie Daniels

I'm afraid of what I'd find in Corbie's collection; I wandered briefly through his iTunes once and it was like entering a different dimension...

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!