powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-10-10 - 12:44 p.m.

Of hard-boiled eggs and many things

Aedan says to me � so now we�re going to come to your house, hard-boil all your eggs and leave them in your fridge. It�s our new thing.

I smile, watching Alric the Mad waiting patiently for Aedan to join him in a warm up fight on the rapier field, and I think You are thirty seconds away from being put on vigil, and you have no �effin clue.

Ah, Aedan. While your vigil will always be associated with the inability to keep track of hardboiled eggs, it�s a better fate than my fluffy pony-tail.


Crusades. I think there was an event somewhere on the other side of the troll booth � I even wandered briefly through it to watch Aedan put on vigil.

Me, I spent my weekend in the troll booth counting money or on my way to and from the bank with the Nia as the other authorized depository. I got two hours of sleep out of 36. Nia got none until we both crashed Saturday night.

War Exchequer is a bit little Combat scribe. Thank God for: Ros the brave who gamely helped me find the wrong Wachovia on Friday afternoon; for Gaston our head troll with his perfect balanced pre-regs and the never-ending tub of individual snack food (Oatmeal cr�me pies are just so strangely good); for Genevieve who braided my hair while I took over hemming the Aedan vigil shirt; for King Martin and his Trimarians who came to the troll booth Friday night wearing pants and entertained us for hours; for Alaric who appeared to handle parking courteously and effortless even at 3 am, even after 48 hours on duty and Johanna, our deputy autocrat, who spent the entire event seeing a need and filling it. Don�t ever try being bored and unoccupied around Johanna.

So Nia and Theo spent a lot of time in my truck (Nia voiceover: the truck of doom! Truck of Doom! Theo drives along the back roads with the Truck of Doom like it�s a little sports car. Deer poke their noses out, see her coming and think �Oh, no. You go right ahead and go first.�). The plus side is much Nia time. And, the truck had heat and heated seats which at 6 am Saturday morning was a fine, fine thing.

We made two wrong turns. Overshooting the turn to site at 3 am, we found the Conwingo dam and hydroelectric plant an extremely cool thing in the middle of the Susequehana River � looks a bit like the futuristic/retro sets from the Batman movies.

The second wrong turn led to us along a lovely winding road (Oh, this is pretty!), finding the site where Nia Almost Died Of Cold (Wait! I recognize those rocks! And that turn! Ohmigod, this is the who-holds-November-Crown-in-Maryland site!!) and the finest double-fried 69 cent hot dogs I�ve ever had in my life.

They may, in fact, be the only double-fried food I�ve had in my life, but they were truly worthy and I thought of Rags.

The last bank deposit was made by midnight Saturday night and a tired Theo headed for bed, briefly and intensely regretting missing the bardic I�d been looking forward to for a couple months. Ah, well. I wanted sleep more than anything by that point.

I realized I had no idea who won anything until I asked Roland on Sunday.


Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!