powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-10-05 - 11:14 a.m.

Caterpillars and trousers

It struck me today that the schoolbuses look like caterpillars.

In my area, those huge side mirrors no longer attached next to the drivers window, but are supported by a black plastic assembly starting from the roof, just where antennae poke out of a bug�s head, and curling down to hold the mirror just next to the driver.

Bright yellow bus. Big black antenna. I�m pretty sure I drew this picture in kindergarten though my caterpillar may have been orange.

Caterpillars are very much a fall thing, aren�t they? Fuzzy and funny little creatures crawling determinedly to a safe spot for cocooning.

I love fall. Come autumnal equinox I am so ready for crisp mornings and 60 degree days, mornings perfect for cocooning under the duvet. This 85 degree crap can disappear anytime it wants.


Last night, we went to a production of Ibsen�s �Enemy of the People.� Now, with the vast knowledge gained from skimming the playbill, let me explain that this was written by Ibsen in a three week rage where he was pissed off about everybody accusing his plays of first pushing for right-wing, then left wing politics. So we wrote a rant. As if, if he had a blog, this would be the �y�all suck drama creating rant.�

It was well-produced, beautifully acted, but just not that entertaining to me. I spent the first act thinking �How much longer can this be?� which is a bad, bad sign. The second act, much better because the long, melodramatic, over-archetyped buildup paid off in an explosion of ridiculousness.

Ibsen is so not my favorite playwright. If we�re gonna do this heavy-handed, overarch-type thing, just give me the medieval �Everyman� plays. Those have no pretension about the melodrama, they just go for it.

Anyway, I�ll leave you with the best line from the play, which I almost bought on a t-shirt: You should never wear your best trousers when you go out to fight for freedom and liberty.

It's worth noting, I almost always wear old jeans to work. I always said they were more convenients for labs and bunny suits, but maybe it's about fighting evil.

You think?

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!