powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Recent News...

Just for Pope Gregory...

Finding the nativity

An accelerated rate

To tell the secrets of my prison-house

House and a shelf

2006-09-16 - 9:28 a.m.

Scratchy and trivial

Ahem. Where was I?

Back from Italy, missed Coronation. Dived into work for a week. Hung out at A&G�s Saturday night under a lovely moon with the fabulous Bess and Elspet and many others. Finally went home when my throat got that scratchy feeling.

Scratchy feeling persisted from Sunday through Wednesday. In fact, when I called out sick on Monday, the conversation went thusly:
Theo, in less than the usual dulcet tones: Hello
T.K. Oh, my God!
Theo, croaking, Well, I thought Katherine Hepburn, but�

I did go to work briefly on Monday, where I and my germs were summarily shooed to the corner of the room, far from the others, and my supportive coworkers kept saying You look awful!

But, under the heading of this too, the cold passed into a residual sniffle by Thursday when I went back to work.

Much better. You look much better, Theo.
I feel better, thanks. Besides, I had to come back. I�ve gotten Roland sick and there�s only one remote to the DVD player.


Friday was a great day at work. I had no meetings. Many people were out. I got an incredible amount d-o-n-e. Best of all, a critical piece of hardware arrived, and we took pictures of the engineer hugging her (finally!) built design which led quickly done the path of geek humor, which maybe Tristan and Fin will find funny�

Love, the hardware; but, don�t love the hardware.
Isn�t that illegal in this state?
I think we�re okay; now, if we were in Virginia with its, um, interesting laws on relations�
Hey, kissing the hardware is wrong, and Contamination engineering will be ticked!
You own a curio cabinet of Strongbad action figures � I wouldn�t start down the discussion of what�s right and wrong. Just sayin�

� or maybe you really had to be there.

It was a good day. And, there was a lot more engineering pith than the misquotes above. But I just don�t think I can convey my imitation of our FPGA expert - who�s like Albert Einstein if his hair was combed and he has the dignity and delivery of Ben Stein without the nasal accent - in print.

Friday was a good day. And, I got to come home where Roland is mostly better and we watched Rome.

You see, the Rome DVDs have a �Road to Rome� viewing option; when activated, fascinating trivia about the history and research behind the show pops up in little boxes, including the occasional option to pause and �Press Enter for more on Roman fire insurance.�

Roland let me have the remote, which is love indeed � watching DVDs with a trivia track and random woman having control. Yet, even I know restraint. When it got to the part about feeding Octavian goat testicles to increase his manliness, I resisted calling Kymber to ask if they�d contain enough testosterone to be equal to taking hormones today.

Roland, it must be said, egged me on, hoping I would call Kymber and weird her out.
Roland is not the sweetness and light he looks, you know.

Scribble to Theo

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!